We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much untapped potential here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a decent stay at the Lodges at Gettysburg. Traveled on a Living Social voucher ... reservations and check-in were a breeze and the clerk at the desk was cordial and efficient. Lodges are a scenic, 10-minute drive to the battlefield - don't worry about any perceived distance.

I was slightly surprised with the Captains Quarters. The website was somewhat confusing - one page showed that the cabin could sleep 2-4, but the reservation page shows 2. There is no way more than more than 2 humans can sleep in the cabin without a rollaway bed ... as the cabin only has one bed. There's nothing that converts to a bed - like a sofabed or sofachair. In fact, there's nowhere to sit - other than the bed. Well, there is a small desk. So if you planned to eat in the room - you'd likely eat on the bed. The bathroom was fine, as was the kitchenette, even if the bathroom floor sloped a bit and the drain drained slowly, and the toilet flushed slowly. AC, internet, and TV worked great ... even if the TV was mounted a great deal of distance from the bed. Had a good night's sleep ... the bed was comfy.

The thing here is ... this place could be GREAT, rather than average. Why not add some landscaping? Why not upgrade the lake area? Why not add some furnishings to the Captains Quarters? Why not add some amenities around the check-in area, like a small outdoor gameroom, patio, etc?

While the stay was enjoyable ... I left thinking that someone simply saw an opportunity to make some money by building some cabins near Gettysburg. While there's nothing wrong with that, I think this spot would be so much better with some personality and passion - which is lacking. Right now, it is a decent place to stay, but not much else.

Room Tip: Captains Quarters only sleep 2, and there is limited space in the room to eat - should you choose to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our property using a voucher and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the lodges are all a bit different in size and we are always available to help you choose the lodge that would best suite your needs. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 466 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lodges at Gettysburg in lodge nj check in was nice and easy the guy at counter and all the staff did there jobs well.The lodge was big, roomy and clean.The beds were comfortable. The ground were immaculately kept. Very short drive to downtown Gettysburg. I would stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank DennisA917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to town. We hope to see you again for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an interesting way to stay in the area. A pleasant drive out of the site into the countryside takes you high up a ridge with a view of some of the battlefield. You can even spot Little and Big Round Top off in the distance. Don't be put off by the somewhat beat up driveway. It's not an indicator of things to come. The units were clean, quiet, with plenty of room. Bathroom was huge with real stone tile. All units seemed well kept and clean. Much nicer than staying in a chain hotel. The electric fireplace is cheesy so don't be fooled by that in the list of amenities. But everything else is great. Nice for a family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

We’re glad to hear you found The Lodges at Gettysburg a great place to getaway and that you enjoyed your time spent here with us. We love where we are located too, high up on a ridge with amazing views; it’s the perfect spot to unwind from the everyday hustle and bustle. Thank you for your kind review, we hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband & I love it here. This is our second stay at The Lodges and we will surely be back again for more. In the spirit of full disclosure, we won this 2 night stay from a Facebook contest that they ran and we were so glad we did. The property has an amazing view of the country. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. This is our 3rd trip to Gettysburg and on our first visit we stayed in a B&B and did not enjoy it. We like our privacy and getting our own lodge here was wonderful. No worrying about disturbing others coming in late or heading out early. No being woken up by your neighbor's loud TV or toilet flushes. It truly is peaceful. The private lodges are clean, tastefully decorated and the beds were comfy. The showers were a good size and had great water pressure. We stayed in the Michigan and had a small electric fireplace and a kitchenette with a sink, microwave, coffee maker & mini fridge. The Lodges is tucked away just far enough from the hustle & bustle of town and the battlefields to come back after a long day touring and unwind. I have recommended The Lodges to family & friends. They were just as impressed as we were.

Room Tip: The Michigan is perfect for a couple who want some privacy. It is the last lodge on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you and your husband had a wonderful vacation here at The Lodges at Gettysburg. Your wonderful feedback about our property is very much appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary with a road trip across the northeast. I planned a couple of nights in Gettysburg and wanted to stay some where romantic and private. This place is amazing - I was excited just driving up to the lodge once in town. I was so impressed by the staff - the location - the lodges - the banquet room - the beautiful lake! I cannot wait to come back and stay at the Lodges. My husband and I stated at check in that we were celebrating 14 years and the wonderful lady checking us in decided to give us a bottle of wine and two glasses! It was such a nice gesture and we will never forget our stay at this wonderful place! Thank you Lodges of Gettysburg for making our first trip to Gettysburg so perfect.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon lodge" is wonderful! Parking right next to your lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your special day with us. We will pass on the kind words to our front desk staff too! Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The setting of this hotel is gorgeous! It is outside the city and nestled into a beautiful hillside. It is a quiet and beautiful location. That, unfortunately is where the positives end. The room, while neat and clean was sadly lacking. The bed was uncomfortable with an old mattress that sagged in the middle. There was no comfortable seating in the room unless you wanted to sit on the bed. We came to the hotel with another couple and between their room and ours, we couldn't find any chairs to sit on to visit with each other. The lighting in the room consisted of one tiny bedside lamp or a very bright ceiling light. We really wanted to love this place because of the ideal setting and location. We paid top dollar and were disappointed with our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myvignette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our ultimate goal is to provide the most memorable experience possible while staying with us. Please accept our sincere apology that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodges. Most guests love the setting and our lodges, so we are disappointed to hear you didn't feel the same way. Hopefully, you would be willing to stay with us again in another one of our lodges that might meet your needs better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just a short drive out of town, maybe five miles...the Lodges is in a beautiful spot. The concept is good but the advertising leads you to believe something other than what you get. We expected a lodge setting with a kitchenette, etc. What we got was not that at all. Maybe I read more than what we actually booked. We got the "Corporal's Quarters" in the lodge NJ. We truly felt that we were in someone's guest room. The other side of the adjoining door was another family. It was a nice room, but it was exactly that....a small room. One straight back chair and no table at all. I ended up opening up the ironing board to use as a table for my laptop and accessories and using the only chair to access the "table". Thankfully, the family on the other side of the door was not noisy, even though they had several young boys with them. I would hate to think what it would have been like had it been a "party crowd".
This is a great place for families and I would highly recommend it for just that so that at least you have a family member on the other side of the door to the corporal's quarters. Even if we had booked the other part of the lodge, I would have been uncomfortable with someone we didn't know just on the other side of the door. If we do return, which we would like to do, we will book the entire lodge and have more family with us.
The bed was not the most comfortable one we slept in. In fact, on our journey across country, it was probably the most uncomfortable. Management really should look into more comfortable bedding. The continental breakfast is ok. If you have the kitchenette, it would be better to make your own. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and we definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Definitely do not book just a standard room if you don't want to feel like a "guest" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We’re glad to hear you found The Lodges at Gettysburg a great place to getaway and the perfect spot to unwind from the everyday hustle and bustle. We do appreciate your feedback about our lodges and are glad that you enjoyed the accommodations your choose. We hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,601 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,116 reviews
4.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
298 reviews
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $93 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing