We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAR, FAR better than I could have expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FAR, FAR better than I could have expected!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend recommended The Lodges to me and I'm so grateful! Our 'cabin' - Delaware - was an elegant, beautifully appointed space. I could hardly believe how wonderful the place was, especially considering the extremely reasonable price. The beds were high, plush and very comfortable, the bathroom had a slate tile floor and slate tiled shower along with a cedar-lined closet, and the kitchen was equally "upscale". We had a problem with our refrigerator and someone came within about 10 minutes of our call with a replacement frig, and all of the staff were very friendly. We were there during the government shutdown so the place was less than full, and yet when we asked about being able to leave a few days earlier than planned, Jasmyn at the front desk was extremely accomodating. It turned out that we stayed the entire time we'd originally planned and that was partly due to how much we enjoyed the accomodations! It's a little bit out of town, but for us that made it more desirable because it was so quiet and had beautiful countryside all around. Since these are individual 'cabins', you also don't have to deal with the sounds typical in hotels of kids running in the halls, people talking too loudly, etc. I will absolutely stay here again on future trips to Gettysburg!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiminy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We couldn’t be happier that you found your recent getaway to The Lodges at Gettysburg "far better than expected!" It is a real treat to read of all that you enjoyed during your visit -- from your guest accommodations to our friendly staff! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your visit, we always love hearing from our valued guests. Please come back again during you next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    96
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
155
173
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed this weekend and it was a great visit, we go to Gettysburg a few times a year and this was the first time we stayed at the Lodges. We had the Ohio cabin and the view was perfect. It was so quite and the beds are huge. The only negative is that you are away from town and the drive out at night is very dark but well worth it. I will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share wonderful feedback from your recent getaway to The Lodges at Gettysburg. It means a great deal to us that you had a wonderful stay. Please come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here once before in the General's cabin; really liked it so booked again online after checking several sites and finding it available on all.
Didn't look closely at email confirmation.
When we arrived, had been assigned another cabin not nearly as nice with only one bedroom (we needed two) and a walk through the bedroom to the bath from the sofabed. All furnishings were worn and shabby in living area. Could hear everything from next unit.
Worst of all, the desk clerk was rude; haughty and always had the last word in conversation.
He informed us we were mistaken about having ever booked General's cabin; said they were full with a wedding so no change was possible. Told us (at 6 pm) that there were plenty of other hotels in Gettysburg if we wanted to leave.. Experienced travelers and tour planners, we found the last 2 rooms at another hotel and left immediately.
The setting is beautiful at the Lodges, but not only will we not be going back, we won't take the tour group we had thought to house there next summer either.
The desk clerk assured us that talking to the manager would not matter as he had already "informed" her of our situation. When I said we would simply contact the owner, he replied "Lots of luck; he lives in California." We decided a complaint was not worth our time. How disappointing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gigicora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay over a weekend at The lodges at Gettysburg. The scenery is beautiful. It was very quiet and peaceful and off the beaten path of the usual Gettysburg tourist hustle and bustle. The lodge itself was immaculate and the beds were so comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend staying here again and again. Both nights we spent here there were weddings and just being an onlooker I saw why they are so highly recommended for weddings- a wedding ceremony in front of a lake followed by a reception at their very large hall and to finish a bonfire down by the lake. The lodges at Gettysburg are a little slice of heaven and we will be returning soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meghan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed your stay or as you put it, "One of best lodges we have ever stayed at!” Thank you for sharing your feedback and kind acknowledgement of our staff and accommodations. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

To start off, if you are arriving into town late, I would recommend letting them know - apparently the registration desk clerk leaves at a certain time, and afterwards you can't get in. Then when she did get us registered, she gave us the wrong room - and had given our room to another guest. We had to call a phone number she had given us for the on-site Maintenance guys to get the situation resolved - luckily she had not left yet. And during registration, she was so preoccupied with leaving, that she didn't tell us about any of the features of the Lodge - like the continental breakfast, spa, etc.

The Rooms are gorgeous - hardwood floors, stone shower stalls, comfortable beds, a mini-fridge (with freezer), microwave, and coffee pots. The Lieutenant's Quarters also had a kitchenette with flatware, coffee mugs, plates, bowls, dish soap, and paper towels. It also had a pull-out sofa (not the most comfortable), and a "fireplace". There is also a small balcony off the back of the Lieutenant's Quarters - and we even saw some deer behind our cabin.

They were very accommodating however when we asked to also take the adjoining room (Corporal's Quarters) the next night and relocating another guest so that we could take the room.

The property is beautiful, and they had 2 different weddings the weekend we were here - at the pond on property, and the large main building housed the Receptions. The location is away from the center of town - about 8 miles outside of downtown Gettysburg. The view from the top of the hill into the valley below, especially in October with the leaves changing colors, was breath-taking. The only other "negative" I might have about the Lodges - in October, especially if its warm outside, beware of the stink-bugs that like to join you in your room.

I would, however, still recommend the Lodges at Gettysburg to another visitor & friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mightemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that your recent stay was not the wonderful experience we hope for each of our valued guests. Please be assured that while we are a popular destination for weddings, groups, families, and couples, the satisfaction of all our guests is of the utmost importance to the members of our staff. We do appreciate that you would recommend us to other visitors and your friends and hope that you too will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. The location on the outskirts of town make it quiet and peaceful but still close enough to enjoy all of Gettysburg's sights.We arrived at night and it was difficult to find the place in the pitch dark. Better signs would be a help. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was average at best but the view from the breakfast room is beautiful. Overall I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your visit to The Lodges at Gettysburg. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our company decided to travel from DC and host our 60-person retreat at The Lodges at Gettysburg. What a beautiful location! The lodge is located on a hill overlooking miles of Gettysburg - specifically farmland, which was perfect for our company's retreat theme. The lodge is located a short drive away from the downtown Gettysburg area, but we found it super relaxing to be in an area without traffic, noise, or disruptions. Our guests were very happy with the grounds - ideal for a digital detox weekend! There's grassy fields, common areas, few miles of hiking trails, a beautiful lake/fountain, as well as a banquet area down by the lake. We hosted a huge communal dinner in this area, and the TLAG event staff was enthusiastic and attentive to our guests' needs. We specifically worked with Beth, who was wonderful with accommodating our requests and working with us prior to the event, in order to pull off our best retreat to date.

Our group rented the entire property, and the cabins were spacious enough to accommodate anywhere from 2-5 people per room. The rooms were clean, most (if not all) included equipped kitchens. Definitely felt homey and like you were in a mountain cabin - despite being in the middle of Gettysburg! Staff was also willing to drive us around on a golf cart at any given moment, which we found to be very helpful. Staff at the front desk always wore smiles, and one in particular (forgot her name) helped compile a list of local costume shops/phone numbers/addresses for me. She even delivered an additional list to my room, doing extra research after I had left the lobby. Without her, I wouldn't have been able to find a costume shop and complete a portion of our retreat breakout session.

All in all, a wonderful, beautiful venue to escape the hectic city life of DC. Perfect for events, retreats, and relaxing vacations. Definitely recommend working the hospitable staff - thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your beautifully descriptive recap of your recent experience at The Lodges at Gettysburg. We’re thrilled that our property provided you with plenty to see, do and explore. What we find most touching are the stories you shared about members of our staff that went above and beyond to deliver attentive service. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share about your stay and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another peaceful escape soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing