We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Mountain Resort(Carroll Valley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Motel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
326
112
46
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
112
46
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgeslate showercaptains lodgecontinental breakfastbig round topliving roomcovered bridgeelectric fireplacewedding venuethe cottagessmall kitchenettekitchen areaeisenhower farmcoffee potdowntown gettysburgin townbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 505 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I chose this lodge based on reviews that I read and requested a lieutenant's lodge. We arrived in the middle of the week and found The Lodges to be quiet, private, and peaceful. When we opened up our door, I found that the a/c had already been turned on which was great because it was sunny and hot that day. The cabin was clean (and I like things clean) and the queen beds were super comfortable. It was quiet at night; we did not have neighbors next to us in the corporal's quarters. Our deck did not have chairs and I noticed other cabins did, if I came back I would bring chairs or request them because the deck area backed up to woods and was shaded. I loved the location of this place because it was in the country and not in town; driving to Gettysburg Battle locations took no time at all. For dinner we drove a few miles and found a KFC, McDonalds and Friendly's not in town so it made getting dinner easy. I suggest walking around the property and checking out the pond. We brought our dinner down there and ate at a picnic table. I do wish The Lodges had a sort of gift shop, I would have bought a coffee mug, towel, tote bag, etc. as a momento from this lovely place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank wearejoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review and tips on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy all of Gettysburg's great history! Please come back and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although a short drive from the picturesque town of Gettysburg, staying at the Lodges was the best thing we ever did. The cabin was spacious, with a full kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom and huge, comfortable bed. The view from the porch of the Alabama lodge was outstanding. The breakfast offered at the Lodge was perfect and a great way to start the day which was typically packed with activity around the battlefield and town.! We absolutely loved our trip to Gettysburg and were moved and awed by the experience. I would highly recommend the Lodges as the perfect resting place, after visiting these hallowed grounds.

Room Tip: The Alabama cabin was great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your super review! It sounds like you had a great stay with us in the Alabama Cabin and enjoyed all Gettysburg has to offer its visitors! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we stayed two nights in a Lieutenants lodge and we have no regrets. When we arrived we were greeted by Jasmine who was very friendly and helpful. Our lodge wasn't ready since we were early but she offered to suggest a few places in town for lunch.
It is a short drive into town but we both enjoyed the quiet and the scenery being out in the country. We loved our lodge. It was clean and very comfortable with a kitchenette, living room and a big bathroom with a slate shower. Our deck didn't have chairs but the next morning we stopped at the desk and once again were greeted by Jasmine who arranged to have two folding chairs sent to our lodge and when we returned in the afternoon the chairs were there waiting for us;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirlie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review on TA! We are so pleased to hear your stay was great and that you had a super time here in Gettysburg! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently attended a wedding with the ceremony by the lake, reception inside and accommodations in the cottages. Everything was picturesque, serene, comfy and cozy. Very close to in town to see the historic sites. Large showers, clean linens and fluffy pillows too. One note* if you are seeking a truly private experience make sure to ask for a cabin that does not have an adjoining corporals quarters. We stayed in a corporals quarters, which was lovely and perfect for our needs, but I feel like if you rented a cabin the preference would be to have it all to yourself and not attached to a room. There was a locked door separating us from the main cabin, but the walls were thin...

Room Tip: If you are seeking a truly private experience make sure to ask for a cabin that does not have an adjoining corporals quarters.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icklebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the nice review on TA! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself at the wedding you attended. It is a great spot for a wedding indeed! Please come back and see us again soon for you own relaxing vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We rented two cabins for the family over Father's Day weekend. The view from our porch was Ken Burns quality. The lodges art spread out along a hillside and overlook the Eisenhower Farm NHP and beyond is Seminary Ridge and Little Round Top. In the mornings when the mist was lifting you could almost hear the cannons firing.

The cabins were clean comfortable, with WiFi, TV, and a complete kitchenette for food preparation and storage for those like us who enjoy a picnic. The location is far enough away from the mad confusion of Gettysburg on a popular weekend that there was complete silence in the evenings and no road noise at all during the day.

A five minute drive over beautiful rural roads dotted with picturesque farms (and even a covered bridge if you know where to look) and you arrive at Confederate Avenue on the Battlefield near where Pickett's Charge started.

This place was absolutely delightful and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review and nice feedback on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear you had a delightful stay and were able to enjoy the amazing history that surrounds us! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews