We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father and son reuniting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Father and son reuniting”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My son and I decided to do a guys trip to Washington, DC to catch-up. He lives in Sweden and I hadn't seen him in a while. A friend recommended the "Lodges" and we drove about an hour and a half from Dulles for our first night's stay. I have to tell you that we were both incredibly pleasantly surprised. This is a five star abode just five minutes from the battlefield. Quiet serene beauty and excellent accommodations is just exactly what we needed and found. If you are planning a trip to this historic site, I promise you can do no better than the beautiful "Lodges at Gettysburg."

Room Tip: Get a dining recommendation from the front desk. We loved the lodge "Maryland".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilgersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear your time with you son was all that you had hoped. It is a great place to get away and re-connect or just simply enjoy the beauty that surrounds us! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    97
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
162
175
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is a great out-of-town experience. We really enjoyed being away in the peace and quiet. It really was not like staying in a rustic cabin but in a very up-to-date "little house.". We so enjoyed the fireplace as we had been out all day playing tourist at the battlefield. Recommend it if you are ever in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor! We sure love to hear that it was a "great out-of-town experience"! We hope all of our guests can get away from it all and enjoy our beautiful setting, glad you did! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a captains lodge for an overnight getaway. We stayed in the Ohio, the inside of our charming little lodge was much more upscale than I imagined, slate floors and shower in the bathroom, the king bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchenette was very nicely equipped with a kuerig coffee maker, dishes, microwave and small fridge. We had a little granite counter and stools in front of a window that looked out over the main lodge. We took a stroll along one the paths in the woods surrounding the property and saw a herd of white tail deer. Your are close to downtown Gettysburg and all the attractions but away from all the crowds when you are ready to relax and unwind. We loved it here so much we booked another get away weekend when we checked out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for the kind review here on TA. We are glad that your getaway fantastic and hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a lieutenants lodge for 3 nights, and it was absolutely lovely! The rustic decor and quiet atmosphere was exactly what we wanted. The only thing that slightly disappointed us was that there are no DVD players in the lodge, and we had brought the movie Gettysburg to watch during our trip. All in all it was a lovely place to stay, and we definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Burch422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. The lieutenants lodge is a great lodge and we are pleased to hear your stay was exactly what you wanted. Thanks for your feedback about the DVD players too! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I thought this would be like rustic camping in a cabin, but Boy were we pleasantly surprised! It was more like a nice hotel room in an upscale little lodge, complete with stone shower and flat screen TV's and a little kitcheonette (bring sancks) with microwave and fridge, free wi-fi too. Plenty of cabin-like decorative charm, new and clean. The price was great we thought. Free little breakfast the next morning at the front main lodge. Kerig coffee pot (with your choice of 4 little coffee pods) in your kitcheonette was a nice touch. The view was great and we enjoyed looking out over the huge hill onto the lake from our private porch. The staff was very nice and helpful as well. We had a spectacular time overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear your stay was a pleasant surprise! It is like a little home away from home, definitely not "rustic camping" like you though it was going to be. Come back again soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The view from the lodges is very beautiful. I liked that it was located a couple miles outside of the town so our stay wasn't bothered by tourists all of the time. The price was reasonable. The room we had was about the size of a standard hotel room but with the feel of staying in a lodge or cabin. The only real complaint I had was the parking and the walls were super thin. We basically felt as if we were staying with the couple on the other side of the wall. Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a unique location and is just far enough away to not be "touristy" as you say. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetlerville Pa.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed! Individual cabins that are absolutely beautiful. beds have the most confortable matteress. Kitchen had a Kerig coffee pot and is great for breakfast. Large bathroom very nice. Loved the back porch with chairs. great place to relax. Very clean! Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klchapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
550 reviews
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
5.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing