We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and refreshing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family decided to spend part of spring break visiting Gettysburg. We wanted to be close to the battlefield and yet find something different from a regular hotel. The Wisconsin Lodge was perfect. The place was clean and the sheets and towels smelled fresh. The area was quiet and we could look out our sliding glass door onto the meadow. I would suggest this location to anyone looking for a unique, quiet place to get away. We were a bit late in our arrival having driven across 2 states but they were kind and still waiting when we arrived. We are discussing whether we could have our whole family reunion here next summer. All of us that already went are voting "yes!"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodges and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    96
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
153
171
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at The Lodges and purchased the Civil War Family Excursion package. The location was great and within 20 minutes of most attractions in the area. The package really gives you a lot with admission to the museums and an audio car tour and discounts to some local restaurants. We were somewhat disappointed with our stay though. We weren't told about the breakfast and where it was located. It would have also been helpful to give us more information on the attractions when we checked in. In particular, it took us some time to figure out where the car audio tour started. The room had dead bugs on the window sills when we got there and our back door was left open (not just unlocked) by the housekeeping staff one day during our stay. Our bathroom sink faucet also had a very slow water flow. We did not hear our neighbors due to thin walls as has been reported on other reviews. It was actually very quiet and a nice location. It may have been because we were in a presidential suite that we didn't hear any neighbors. We were very appreciative that a gentleman at the front desk let us print our boarding passes at the office the evening before we left. Overall, this could be a great place with a few relatively minor improvements and I could see giving it another chance.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for their best lodge/location. Views and parking vary by lodge and some may be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. When addressing your concerns with our housekeeping staff, we noticed that you did not want any type of stay over service except for towels and the sweeping of your porch. I am not sure how your back door was open as the staff did not enter your room during your stay. I appreciate the time you took to post a review on our retreat, as we take all comments very seriously and strive to ensure that an issue never occurs again. I hope that you will consider choosing the Lodges for your next stay in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Needing a quick getaway, I found the Lodges as a special Living Social deal and thought it would fit the bill. My husband and I were not disappointed! We stayed in Michigan, a Captain's Lodge that sat on the end of two rows of lodges, therefore having unobstructed views of the valley below. The lodge was clean and roomy, with a nice kitchenette, bathroom with shower only, and combined sleeping/sitting area. We loved the rustic feel of the lodge, and the views were amazing, both of the valley below during the day, and the star-filled sky at night. We did not try out the continental breakfast which was an additional charge, and while we chose to eat at off times in area restaurants, one could easily prepare light meals in the kitchenette which had a microwave and coffee pot. This property is a little ways out of town, so plan your meals accordingly. The cleaning service did not come until late in the afternoon, when we were already back from sight-seeing, and we did not mind, but others might. The one thing that stood out to us the most was how quiet it was at night...just what these parents of five needed! All in all we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the Michigan Captain's Lodge at The Lodges at Gettysburg!

Room Tip: There are various room configurations here, so make sure you clarify which room you want and are get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfisher83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very happy that we were able to provide you with a great experience and a quiet place to relax. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Lodges at Gettysburg were a mixture of good--the rooms were attractive (our cabin had a sitting area, and a separate bedroom area) The view was great--could see a long distance away, really nice. It was wonderfully quiet--we didn't hear a sound once we settled in for the night. The bed was very comfortable. The disadvantages: it is in an out of the way location--no place close by to eat, and minimum facilities for fixing a meal (microwave, coffee pot and refrigerator). The housekeeping was lacking a bit--I found hair in the bed that definitely was not my short, grey hair. The coffee pot had coffee grounds still remaining, filtered through a paper towel. Some of the slats in the blinds were missing, and the screws were loose in the door handle (hubby fixed it for them). Depends on what you are looking for whether to stay here or not--it is quiet and peaceful, gorgeous view, and good sleeping. Take some breakfast food along to be prepared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhairedwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodges. Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us as we use all of the comments posted to help us to continually improve the quality of our services offered. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am a Chief Executive of a corporation which often requires a private off-site location that enables me to assemble my leadership and core cadre for important planning which requires isolation from the daily stress of the office environment. On the east coast, there is no better place than the Lodges at Gettysburg. The staff understand our needs, and make every effort to insure our conferences, lodging, meals, and recreational activities are handled as if we were coming home to my Grandparents home, as a child. I can't think of a better standard than that. It has become our corporate home away from home. The staff and management -our friends, and my staff leaves, energized, from being exposed to this solemn special location. They earn 5 stars, every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting many retreats to come!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you ever want to be a tourist at Gettysburg and see and feel the history, the lodges accommodates all of that and much more. I slept like a baby and the staff is there and literally every level represents concierge type service. I wouldn't go anyplace else and I plan on going back again.

Room Tip: They are all good because they are cabins that are set apart. Maximum privacy. Only choices are ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattG12412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had a great stay and we are so glad to hear the great feedback! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I came here for valentines weekend. It was way more than we expected!! Very beautiful and well worth the price. Asside from the thin walls and being able to "hear" the 3 people next door. My husband and I will be coming back again but will be asking for the private lodge next time. I highly reccomend this place if you want a nice quiet place out of town. And if you don't mind thin walls in the 2 room cabins.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CryssyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a nice Valentine's weekend, what a great place to spend a holiday! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing