We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had an outstanding stay at the Lodges at Gettysburg. The staff went to incredibly lengths to accomodate some special requests we had and could not have been nicer to us.

The lodges are quiet, very nicely furnished, very large and have beautiful views. A couple of minutes takes you into downtown Gettysburg but the Lodges is such a nice place, the only trouble is convincing yourself to leave....

This is also an excellent place for disabled travelers. My daughter and I are both disabled and they made sure that the trip was exceptionally smooth.

Could not recommend the Lodges more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear your stay with us was "outstanding". We strive to make everyone's stay as perfect as possible. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 438 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a beautiful view from the Lodges at Gettysburg! The property sits on a hill in the countryside and has all the amenities you could want on vacation. The Michigan Captains Lodge was very well equipped with a kitchen, patio, and elegant bedroom. We enjoyed the breakfast and the staff was very friendly. It's a short drive to downtown and lots of great historical sites and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Captains Lodges are best for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thanks for the review! We really do have great views and I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful countryside that The Lodges offers its guests. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and i stayed at the Lodges of Gettysburg on August 10,11 & 12 of 2012. This lodge was set on the most breath taking scenery we have ever seen. The lodges are spacious, beautiful and clean.The staff was beyond stellar. They were friendly and helpful. They were also knowledegable with the local attractions.The prices were reasonable. This is such a secret little gem, i hate to let others know about it. I would stay again and again!

Room Tip: All of the rppms are just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We love when we have happy guests that enjoy our property and all it offers! Come back and "rough" it real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Lodge. Some reviewers have mentioned that it is too far away from the downtown but it is only 6 miles and what a difference that makes. It is incredibly quiet and relaxing. Only thing that would have made the location better would have been if they had a small cafe for dinner at the lodge itself. Beautiful views and great place to stay if you're with a group. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank htravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thanks you for your review on Trip Advisor! Nothing better than being at the Lodges and enjoying the fresh air and getting caught up on needed relaxation! We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here! Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night in the New York (Captain's Lodge). We had a great view and the cabin itself was very well decorated and appointed. We had a king bed, kitchen and bath. There was lots of space in the cabin. The area is very quiet. It is about 5 miles from Gettysburg which was farther than I expected so just be aware of that. We arrived at the lodge and then turned around and drove back to town for dinner. It is a very nice place to stay-wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: New York-Captain's Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obitwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here this past week for our honeymoon and we had a hard time saying good-bye! We stayed in the Alabama lodge and will request it when we come back again. The kitchen was fully stocked as previously stated in other reviews and the room was clean. Our view was phenomenal and we were usually leaving the lodge late just so we could look at the mountains more. The location is ideal...close to the town of Gettysburg and battlefields but still far enough away to enjoy the serenity of the countryside. We felt at home here. The only complaint we had was that we ran out of toilet paper two times (thank goodness they had Kleenex!) and searched the room for extra but there wasn't any. Maybe request extra at check-in?? The shower also had a weird smell at night so we just covered it with a towel. But overall, our stay was amazing and we can't wait to come back on an anniversary someday! This is the only place I would recommend to people traveling to Gettysburg...way better than a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHatchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for speeding your honeymoon with us at The Lodges at Gettysburg! We are pleased to hear your stay was everything you imagined. Thanks for your feedback too, we appreciate learning more about our guests' visits. Fan us on Facebook too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Lodges this month and enjoyed ourselves but spent a great deal of time driving back and forth to Gettysburg for dinner. If you stay at the Lodges, you should get the Alabama room because it has the best view. Many of the other cottages have a driveway and cottages that would detract from the view. I would have rated this much higher if it were closer to town or if they had a dinning room. Continental breakfast was nothing to brag about.

Room Tip: Go for the Alabama Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the Alabama room and the view it offers. The Lodges is a bit more out of the way than others, but we think that is what makes us so special! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,570 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
4.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.6 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $119 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing