We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabin with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cabin with a View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Overall a "C". We recently stayed at The Lodges as part of a week-long conference. I'm not sure what the individual price was for the room as it was included as part of the conference fee. I think we got very lucky and were given one of the cabins with the back porch facing down the hill towards Gettysburg - amazing view each day - you can actually see Confederate Road, Little Round Top and Big Round Top in the distance.

The room itself was nice - rustic but with modern conveniences. I echo other reviews about housekeeping though. It wasn't filthy but wasn't sparkling clean either. On our back porch was a galvanized pail full of cigarette butts from the last gues that was never cleaned out. The linens were clean and the king-size bed very comfortable. The bathroom in our room was spacious, plenty of hot water and decent lighting. Bedroom area had a flat-screen TV but the signal went out frequently during the day. The small kitchen was adequate with a microwave, small sink and small fridge. There was NO parking immediately around our cabin and as we walked to other friends' cabins you can see the parking situation is a disaster. The ground is eroding away and there was mud everywhere. Much of the available parking is on a slope as well. The roadways are very uneven and tricky to negotiate at night.

The main lodge area had minimal conveniences. We spent the bulk of our time in their conference center which was nice. The staff did a good job keeping our group supplied with water and beverages throughout the conference. The front desk staff was pleasant and professional but I noticed many times there was no one at the front desk and the phone rang w/out answer. There was a very small "sundry pantry" off the main desk where you can buy a few snacks but that's the extent of food available on property as best I could tell. Our conference had lunches and dinners on the property but I believe the meals were catered specifically for us. I don't know what (if any) meal service they have there for other guests. The meals we had for the conference were outstanding! The the wait staff were friendly, professional and very quick w/ service. My wife got a "very light" breakfast delivered to our room the first day...then nothing showed up after that. It was confusing...not sure if we were supposed to get it every day or not at all...but no consistency either way.

The whole place had a strange feel to it... not a hotel, not a resort, not a B&B... not sure what it was really.

Overall it was comfortable if you're looking for a place to just sleep and maybe unwind after touring the battlefield all day. There is not much to do on the property itself - especially for kids. But it's a convenient 10 minute drive into Gettysburg through beautiful rolling farmland. Highly recommend taking a drive up Pumpinghouse Road to the Sachs Covered Bridge on the way to the battlefield. The bridge was a stunning centerpiece to the fall foliage.

Room Tip: If you can get the "Alabama" cabin it has by far the best view of most of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We have made several renovations to the property and hope you would consider coming back and staying with us again! We want every guest to have a spectacular experience! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    96
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
155
171
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Texas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently stayed for the weekend in a delux queen suite (sleeps 6). The suite was a beautiful little cabin with gorgeous furnishings and lots of very nice touches (such as a slate shower, all hardwood floors, kitchenette, reproduction antique furniture). If the housekeeping had done a better job I would say this place was perfect. However,upon arrival there were dirty tissues under the nightstand, a razor under the bed, and dust everywhere, especially under the furniture. I mean, how hard is it to dust a hardwood floor? There were used plastic utensils in the kitchen drawer - yuck. Otherwise, a very comfortable cabin, but for the price I expected it to be clean.

The view, especially from the main lodge is breathtaking this time of year, and the pond on the property is stocked with largemouth bass, much to my sons delight as he had pretty good luck fishing.

The parking seems to be a work in progress, and the breakfast you shouldn't waste time with unless juice and yogurt is all you want. The coffee was terrible and the seating was extremely limited, which I found odd for such a huge place. They also seem understaffed as I had to hunt someone down to check out.

Overall it was a pleasant experience, and we would probably stay there again, however I will think twice before paying full price again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the6travelingps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed our scenic views! Please fan us on Facebook too! Hope to see you again soon here at The Lodges at Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I recently spent 3 days at the Lodges at Gettysburg. I got a deal of travel zoo so for $79 and $89 per night. The accommodations were good mostly because we got an upgrade. We had a separate bedroom and living room w/a back patio and kitchenette. No view to speak of, but the view was like a back yard w/forest in the back so I liked it.

Housekeeping leaves MUCH to be desired. Although the room was visibly dusty frolm when we arrived - that didn't really bother me, Housekeeping replaced our towels/made our beds the next day, After this, housekeeping replaced nothing else - tissues remained empty, garbage pails were left w/o plastic bag refill, complimnetary coffee not refilled - they only made the beds. Some places wait for the first night's tip to gauge the level of service they will provide. I tip at the end of my stay so if this was their strategy, it was a mistake on their part. I did not leave a tip at the end of my stay.

The only other problem at least for the area where our cabin was located was parking. There simply isn't enough. Don't know why the other visitors rarely moved their cars, but after our first night, which was a thursday, we could never get a spot. Many of the cabins sleep more than one couple so I'm guessing that's why there were double the cars there shoudl have been for 6 cabins or so. Either way this is something the lodges should have accommodated for since they know how many their cabins hold. I'm sure I could have parked somewhere down the hill, but why shouldn't I be able to park by my cabin as the others did. Shouldn't be a game of musical cars every day.

Overall it was average to good for the price. I don't know what kind of room our original travel zoo deal was for, but I was glad for the upgrade and felt that was appropriate for the price. I would not pay over $79 to $89 plus tax for 2 room accommodation here

If you've ever stayed at a state cabin, you'd know what I mean. State cabin accommodations are similar in that you can get a nice cabin w/great view for half the price. You won't have the continental breakfast or noise from a 'connected" cabin (we didn't have neighbors till the last night), the crew at the lodge leaves at 11 and there's an after hours # you call for service - state cabins rely on a number to call after hours in the same way, no trouble parking at a state cabin because they're pretty spread out and the view is typically great.

So based on the location & price it was a good deal for this stay,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are in a continual process to make our guests' stay as perfect as possible. We are glad you thought the location and price were perfect! Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We loved everything that was inside our cabin, but were not so thrilled with everything else. The cabin was lovely - nice furnishings, spacious and great atmosphere. It was a pleasure to stay there. Outside the cabin was another story. The breakfast was probably the worst we have ever had anywhere. We are not very fussy about breakfast, but found it difficult to find anything there we really wanted to eat. There was no cereal, no milk, no toast, and we had to go hunt down a staff member to get us hot water to make a cup of tea. They really need to lift their game in that area. Also needing attention were the outdoor areas. They need to provide some paved areas for parking, and make the driveways and paths level and firm. There was a lot of mud, and loose, uneven surfaces to negotiate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking to improve. Our recent renovation has left our guests' leaving very impressed! Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a deluxe suite cabin that slept 6 and were very impressed with the accommodations. Only downfall is NO pool and breakfast was so so continental. Also a muddy mess the parking area's the weekend we were there. We did throughly enjoy our stay the the staff was very polite and helpful.. We would go back and also recommend to family and friends without hesitation !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking to improve. Our recent renovation has left our guests' leaving very impressed! The grounds are being tended to and we hope you will come back again soon! Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The cabins themselves are lovely. The cleaning crew needs to do a better job. If you look under furniture or turn an accessory over you will find cobwebs and/or dirt. The bed was comfortable. Furnishings were fine. Great views. The breakfast is sub-standard. Chain motels do a better job. I believe the management is upgrading the food in the future. We had a poor selection of fruit, weak coffee, juice, pastries, bagels (don't bother), muffins, and I believe there were some yogurts available also. It's a self service breakfast in the main lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-NJ-Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking to improve. We are working hard to make each guests' stay as perfect as possible and are working hard to improve in the areas that need improvement. We hope you will come back again soon and stay with us! Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had used the Travelzoo special rate to book our stay way back in July, and I had emailed the Lodges to verify what we would be staying in, so we knew what our room would be like. We had a lock-out bedroom which had a queen bed, fridge, microwave, and large bathroom. Because the cabin is shared with other people who have the other bedroom and a living room, the lock-out bedroom wall is thin and we were able to hear conversations on the other side of the wall. That's okay during daylight hours, but I was awakened after midnight the first night we were there, when the other people came home and started talking. There were no screens on the windows which allowed some flying insects to visit and there were dead insects on the windowsills. We also had no hot water in our bathroom, and were told that we could take showers down in the lodge. Breakfast was the perfect thing for me, a croissant and some juice. There were also bagels and yogurt and fresh fruit. There is a big pond where you can fish (we didn't). The sunsets and sun rises were awesome! This place is about 5 miles from downtown Gettysburg, a nice drive during daylight, but easy to miss at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thanks for the review on Trip Advisor! We are always trying to improve in all areas of our service and of course continually upgrade the property in all areas! We hope you come back and try us again soon. Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing