We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an eclectic collection.”

Gettysburg Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum that was featured on History's "American Picker's" The Gettysburg Museum Of History has over 4,000 artifacts on display. The Museum is FREE TO THE PUBLIC! The Museum covers all areas of American History. Military and Political History are the focus with some pop culture covered. Some highlights include: A lock of George and Martha Washington's hair, Abraham Lincoln's wallet and opera glasses,John Wilkes Booth's splint relic, the largest collection of Gettysburg battlefield relics on display in Gettysburg, an autograph or manuscript from each president, Harry Truman's hat, Dwight D. Eisenhower's golf clubs, JFK's rocking chair, suit, and bloodstained limousine upholstery from the assassination, the flag that flew during the attack on Pearl Harbor, Shell casing from Ruby's gun that Killed Oswald, Hitler's silver that was captured by U.S. forces at his home. The Fredrick G. Pfeffer collection of relics from Pickett's Charge. The Robert L. White collection of JFK, The Captain Good collection (wounded in action at Gettysburg) includes the items he used during the battle and the bullet that wounded him! Uniforms,flags, accoutrements, weapons, documents, photos, much much more!The Gettysburg Museum Of History also buys artifacts as well as sells them. Please stop by and see the most amazing collection in Gettysburg at no charge!
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite an eclectic collection.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This may easily be one of the coolest FREE museums I'd ever been to. To my surprise, it not only featured Civil War memorabilia but artifacts throughout the course of American and European history. It starts off with Union and Confederate weaponry and moves on to SS uniforms, Kennedy's suit, Elvis' favorite rifle, and even Marilyn Monroe's bra. The entire house is a treasure chest of fascinating artifacts. Before leaving you can purchase authentic rounds from the Civil War as well as 200-year-old canister rounds from the American Revolution. If I'm ever back in Gettysburg for any reason I will definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluespectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    103
    26
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The store is loaded with tons of amazing items”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is something for everyone; not just Civil War memoriabilia. The museum is clean, organized and very interesting. You do not want to be in Gettysburg and miss the opportunity to see the Museum. The owner is great --- he is helpful, knowledgeable and loves what he does. Stop in! You'll be glad you did!
Lon and Joey

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is truly a hidden gem in Gettysburg. It is a free (donations accepted) museum with so much to look at. It is right on the main street and there are so many interesting items. Tons of presidential memorabilia, rare and unusual items. Oddities such as hair from George and Martha washington, lots of elvis and jfk stuff too. Everything is fascinating and well displayed. The owner is super friendly and knows his stuff....could talk to him all day. He said they are expanded to get more space, which is good since he has a lot of treasures. Loved the original civil war wooden grave marker....very rare find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing collection!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not just Civil War related stuff, oh no.. How about some Elvis? JFK? Nazi Germany? Erik and crew have one of the most amazing collections I've ever seen and, the Museum is FREE to browse! And as for Civil War and Gettysburg related items, the Museums collection rivals the one found at National Park Service's Visitors Center in Gettysburg. You will not be disappointed and more than likely you will be saying "WOW" a lot as you go from display to display. It is a MUST see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiggerTracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredibly interesting museum!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visit the museum everytime we are in Gettysburg, which is 3-4 times a year and enjoy it each time. Frankly, I've never seen a collection of items like that anywhere; there's not only a ton of amazing, actual artifacts from the 3-day battle, but other items I would have never thought I'd see, like a lock of George Washington's hair, or Hitler's silverware from the Eagle's Nest, and Elvis items as well as an incredible JFK collection. Erik Dorr, the owner & curator, is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Hard to say what we liked best, as it's all amazing, but being G'Burg battle buffs, we probably lean towards the battle artifacts.

Bring a camera and stay as long or as little as you like; we normally average an hour there and still don't see everything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luvcivilwarstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing