We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopping for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garryowen Irish Pub

Garryowen Irish Pub
Ranked #4 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stopping for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I stopped for lunch after a long day of work. I would recommend the Irish whiskey burger. ITS My favorite.
Good Irish public people would love to come to. ALL of there foods are good here.

Helpful?
Thank tedebear108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    473
    115
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
“Irish flare of Gettysburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Every time we come to Gettysburg we have at least one meal at GarryOwen. My husband puts it best when he says, it's a bar, they are not trying to be anything else and they offer great food and nothing pretentious about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgrgondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
188 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Going Irish In Gettysburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

After doing some checking for a “somewhat later evening” dinner location we settled on Garryowen Irish Pub. It worked out well for us. The pub was easy to find in the “downtown area” of Gettysburg. It was very typical of some of the pubs we visited while in Ireland. Nothing fancy; just comfortable with good food and a great selection of libations.
After a short wait we were taken to a table in the dining area. It was obvious that the pub is frequented by locals and that proved helpful when one individual made a great menu selection. Our server greeted us quickly and took our initial drink order. She was friendly and proved to be efficient and professional.
We started with sharing a cup of the suggested Crab & Red Pepper Bisque. As suggested it was very good. For entrees my wife selected the Guinness Beef Stew and I went with the Bangers & Mash. We have had both before in other pubs. Our selections this evening compared well to our previous experiences at other pubs. Preparations and portions were very good.
We enjoyed our experience and will return when the opportunity presents itself.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKCRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Minutes from downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

You will enjoy this Irish pub with many Irish food selections. I had fish and chips and was served the entire fish with fried, It was delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckowzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a fun night. The drinks were awesome, and the waiter was tons of fun.
We had some really good food after waiting 45 min. for a table. They had a really good band after the dinner service was done.
I'd go back again to hang out at the bar.
Shout out for the smoked salmon appetizer was amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garryowen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing