We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Garryowen Irish Pub
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Stevens, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We made reservations on a Saturday night (which I recommend). Very busy place, but overall we were impressed! Good selection of beers and the food was yummy. It was in walking distance from our hotel, which was also a plus. I didn't give it a perfect score, just because the waiter never came and asked us how we were doing after we got our food and the place is a little cramped.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerbabyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    514
    129
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pub food in town”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Garryowen pub is a small pub in town off the main square. Great shepherds pie and other pub food. Usually crowded on weekends so be there early for a table. Music is a plus on some nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This place lives up to the hype!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arrived in Gettysburg hungry on a gray day. The atmosphere of this delightful pub is so welcoming. The servers couldn't have been more friendly and accomodating (traveling with large group). And the food surpassed expectations. The best lamb burger I've ever had. One person in our group enjoyed the crab soup; as Marylanders, we are always skeptical about anything crab once you leave our state, but it was delicious with great flavor. Loved this place and would definitely go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunnygirl110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub/Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really good food. Just a short walk from the square. Ate there last night. Had fish/chips. Food is above the standard bar food. The haddock was like 10 oz and just perfect. Will eat here again when near Gettysburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Arriving for dinner at about 7 p.m. on a Friday night, no tables were available for about an hour. Fortunately the upstairs is a fantastic pub area. We enjoyed a glass of wine, soaking in the ambience waiting for a table. Dinner was very good, my husband ordered the shepherd's pie, while I had a bowl of black bean/ham soup. Both were delicious and the portion of the shepherd's pie was huge so I helped my husband finish it. It's definitely worth climbing the stairs for a drink either before or after dinner in their upstairs room.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garryowen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing