We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Garryowen Irish Pub
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family and I loved every minute of our meal here! Food was outstanding, service and prices were excellent and atmoshpere was perfect. Felt like we were in a pub in Ireland!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank michellelynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    514
    129
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food, and beer.”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had heard about Gerryowens from our friends for awhile and so when we went to Gettysburg with them we had to eat there. I have to say it lived up to all of my expectations. It's just a small neighborhood pub, but it could have been transported from Ireland. It has a comfortable, familiar feel about it and the food is typical Irish pub grub, hearty and plentiful. They have a great selection of beers and I highly recommend the Stubborn Irish Prig if you like Guinness and want to try something a little different.
We will be back!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MexTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, spirits, and vibe”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Ate at the pub last weekend. We chose the pub based on Tripadvisor reviews for downtown restaurants. We attended First Friday where downtown merchants stay open late and figured we would eat while in town. We saw several other restaurants during the event, but ended at Garryowens with no reservation.
The pub is small, so we expected to wait. They quoted us an hour, almost as if to scare us away, be we were determined and had no other plans. We spent the time at the upstairs bar and were well taken care of. It was a cold night, so we liked that the upstairs bar was on the warm/cozy side. They had a nice beer and whiskey selection and some very friendly patrons.
After 45 minutes, we went downstairs for dinner. The Shepherds Pie and Fish and Chips were outstanding. Service was good, although our waiter seemed to be handling all tables on the first floor. We also had a crock of the French Onion soup...awesome!
We thought about having lunch there the following day, but decided to try other places during our weekend getaway.
I would highly recommend a visit to anyone!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyPhlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A new favorite!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Love a great irish pub and this one's it! Terrific atmosphere, great service and fabulous food! Had a fun night and will definitely be back in the future!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Never would know you were in Gettysburg!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We joined good friends for a Saturday lunch. Garry's is located on a main street in downtown Gettysburg, but off the beaten tourist-path. In fact, you would pass it and never know it was there. It is in two old row-houses that formerly housed a neighborhood dive called "Hamilton's". That being said, Garry's is a 110+ improvement to the building and the neighborhood.

Although not a "big" restaurant, it hits all the buttons! It is divided into a bar area on one side and an eating area on the other, with an upstairs bar and additional space for private parties, etc. There is nothing touristy about the interior - in fact, the "regulars" seem to be staff from the nearby Gettysburg College, professionals from the courthouse and other locals who know a neighborhood gem when they see it.

Three of our party had the traditional Dublin fish-and-chips ($12.95). We all agreed the fish was the BEST we have ever had! Fresh haddock -- firm, moist and expertly fried (i.e., not frozen or greasy). The fries were homemade and well-seasoned.

The list of beer on tap seemed endless -- surely something for everyone! The staff was friendly and well trained, and certainly able to keep up with the Saturday lunch-time crowd. There is ample meter parking on the main street ($1/hour) and additional free parking on the side streets. This is a downtown restaurant and a very, very welcome addition to Gettysburg eateries!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing