We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !”

International Museum of Spiritual Investigations
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The International Museum of Spiritual Investigations (IMSI) is a 501c3 Non-Profit Museum that has 15 years of experience in the ghost tracking world and has been in operation for 2 years. The museum was developed to educate, preserve, and facilitate spiritual investigations history, methodology, and evidence and present this to the public .Since the doors have opened the team has provided several hundred workshops and educational investigations as well as thousands of exhibitions.
North East, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great !”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Cecil & beyond has visited there twice now and always had eye opening experiences. Our recent visit really intriqued our team. Not to mention great personal experiences with the resident spirits there !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only scary if you are claustrophobic”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

People were nice. The spectpmeter was a nice touch. Just not a lot there. Probably could see everything in 15 minutes. Could use some additional materials or better ties to the Gettysburg area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilliams61735, Owner at International Museum of Spiritual Investigations, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are very sorry that you found our museum small, we work under a very tight budget, and volunteers, no paid personnel. We have tried to provide the best experience for the room that we have. I wish that we had more room, but we can't do that until we gather more funding from donations and support to move into a bigger facility. IMSI has been around for close to 3 years, has almost 13,000 volunteer hours to keep the place operational and has gather 6,000 visitors and workshop participants in three years, and we are currently trying to support something that nobody has ever seen before and no template to work off of. Thank you for your feedback! We hope that you come back or support us to grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., PA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very little to see, maybe 20 minutes at most”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Small museum devoted to the paranormal that we stopped at because our 12YO is very interested. Had a very small room of objects they claimed had readings, and the rest mostly photos. Best thing is the price - only $3. You could rent equipment for $5 (gives free admission) and run around taking readings at the historic house, so would be an inexpensive low key way to give the kids an investigation (normally $30-60pp for full investigations throughout the town.) Miss-able, but just a few houses down from the Shriver's house and the excellent History Museum, so easy to combine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilliams61735, Owner at International Museum of Spiritual Investigations, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, we are striving to expand on what room we do have, but it is tough to expand at a location you cant without moving to a new location which we do not have the funds for. I hope that you come back and support us in addition to the History Museum. We have both the same goals and missions but very different budgets and venues. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Variety of information in a small and friendly environment.”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a small, but interesting building with quite a variety. It's only $3 per person (you can also rent some small pieces of equipment for I think $5 per half hour to walk around the building with.) You do go through the house yourself, no guide, but you don't need one. There are about 3 small rooms and a couple hallways with different items in each room which have signs and clear explanations of everything you're looking at. (Not to give away anything, just so people know what to expect.) There is a room with old items that have claims to have something paranormal happening (old doll, old piano, and many other items), another room has a video playing of something that was "captured" along with many photos of unexplainable things. What I did appreciate very much, was they also posted pictures of their "debunking" attempts so you can compare yourself. We found out at the end, apparently one of the most active rooms in the house is the bathroom! lol

I found the house to be quite charming, including the kitschy little additions of the "ghost poop" (marshmallows) or the 3d creepy portrait that changes to look like a skeleton (like a Halloween decoration.) The staff were friendly and informative, made you feel welcome, not like just another customer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Phindy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If your into the paranormal, this is your kinda place”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

There are so many different attractions, stories, pictures, and evidence that spirits walk beside us everyday. There has to be something more than just this 1 lifetime and there is proof. See for yourself.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberlyellis1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Museum of Spiritual Investigations also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing