We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granite Hill Camping Resort
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Trip”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took our first popup camper on Fathers Day Weekend 2013 and Granite Hill was a pleasant experience. A lady was waiting when we pulled in to help direct us to the office and check in was quick. We were in the back of the campground in a very shaded area (and plenty of room for me to back the camper in safely) and there weren't many sites being used in that area as it was a short hike to the restrooms and other amenities. The restrooms were well maintained. We fished in both of the ponds, the larger one in front was stocked and as basically first time fishers with limited equipment, we were able to catch fish in 15 mins or so! I did miss the fathers day tournament....The pool and surrounding areas were clean although the pool was quite crowded and some teens could have used adult supervision (or someone from the park to occasionally monitor the pool) as they were rude to other younger children. We played shuffle board (w/ refundable deposit) and also did a free ghost tour. They had a free horseshoe tournament and Saturday evening they had a DJ blaring music which all the kids enjoyed as did the parents watching from the lounge chairs. We ate in the barn for dinner when we first arrived and the fathers day breakfast special before leaving. The outside seating did have a lot of large dragon flies that scared the kids from eating there...Pricing and food was average and the kids enjoyed a few minutes in the arcade for their only electronic entertainment of the weekend. We had firewood delivered and it was stacked for us when we returned to the site next to the fire pit. The kids enjoyed playing in the sand pirate ship. This is a good solid campground with activities for the family.

Room Tip: The back-in areas to the back left of the campground behind the smaller pond are heavily shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    19
    23
    16
See reviews for
73
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We decided to take our pop-up camper to Granite Hill Camp Resort for 8 days. When we got there we were put in the main camping area. It was very muddy, and there were plenty of bugs. The bathrooms were nice, but needed some cleaning. We stayed at the site for 1 night and then decided to move sites. We went to the office and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose to stay on a hill in the B-Section campsites. This site was much better. It was dry, had plenty of grass, and it was huge. We could easily fit 3 of our campers on the site. The pool and playground were visible from the site. The bathroom was a short walk away, and this bathroom was much better. It was clean, and the showers were huge and had drains unlike the others ones which would overflow. I would suggest coming here as long as you don't stay in the main camping area. If you get a campsite you should look at others before you set up. We had to take down our pop-up and set it back up, but it really wasn't a big deal. The move was worth it. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmadkins1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I had little time to review all campgrounds prior to setting reservations. KOAs are expensive and don't offer much more in service and facilities in my opinion. Both Granite Hill and Gettysburg had bad reviews. I chalk some of that up to one time bad experiences or picky people. After my initial review I picked Granite Hill over Gettysburg and KOA.

I would agree that the main camp site area needs some work. More gravel on roads and camp site drive. Some trees could be removed to help with space and grass growth perhaps. But then again it is in the mountains, does provide a lot of shade and makes the camping experience more naturally woodsy. It is damp and a bit muddy on our site. Although I did pick the site not knowing the grounds. Management should recommend dry sites when possible. We're in a popup so it's not really a big problem. Although I do desire/prefer grassy areas.

There are dry sites up the hill in the main camp area. We just happen to pick the low end. There are plenty of grassy sites outside the main camp area. If we had known better we would of reserved an area in those locations.

The bathrooms are fine for camping. I can see if the one drain was slow or plugged for the four shower stalls, that would be a problem. But I had no problems with that issue this morning. The showers were hot too. Not as hot as I like. But definitely hot enough to want to stand in the shower and enjoy the warmth.

Check-in was quick and easy. Still here, camping for 7 more days. Hoping the forecasted rain doesn't cause any grief. And looking forward to checking out the facilities and service where and when needed.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kradkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've been camping at Granite Hill for over 10 years. We typically spend two weekends each year. One for the June pool party and the second for one of the Halloween weekends. We always enjoy their nice, well kept pool during the June weekend. There are a lot of fun activities for kids and adults during each of our stays. Our daughter has really enjoyed winning one of the prizes in the costume contest for the past three years. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Overall, we've had many memorable and enjoyable stays at this campground. We highly recommend this campground for anyone looking for a family camping experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgie2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We a family of 4 (husband, adult son, daughter in law and I) camping with 1 tent and a van were forced to get 2 sites. We were told on the phone we could get 1 but on arrival were told the policy was 2 adults per site !! We were surrounded with campers that had multiple tents and vehicles on 1 site. We have camped for 30 years all over the US and have never heard of such a policy. The campground was not bad except the bath houses could use a good cleaning. We will not stay here again! I think it was a total rip off, the policy is a way to generate as much income as possible. Just for the record 2 slept in the tent 2 in the van !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROADRUNNERBluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall our stay was good, but I would like to see a few changes before we will stay again or even recommend the campground to other campers.

1. The sites are not level and require the use of levelers. Not just one row, but the max allowed to be used on one side. This was not just an issue at our campsite, but our friends sites as well, and almost all of the sites throughout the campground. This is something that I assume they are fully aware of given the number of levelers sold in the camp store. We have been to several campgrounds and toured their stores, but have never seen this many levelers available for purchase or used throughout the campground.

2. There are areas where the grass does not appear to be maintained around campsites including near the cabins. I am not sure if this is on purpose or if there was not enough time to cut the grass before the Memorial weekend rush. I understand that we are camping, but also maintaining the property throughout is important, including the area between campsites in the wooded part, especially the cabins.

3. We noticed several campers (travel trailers, 5th wheels, popups) having trouble getting into their sites because the roads are narrow and having to maneuver around trees. I understand we are in the wooded section and yes that means trees, but it maybe time to consider removing some of them to widen the road and make getting in and out of the sites easier. We watched several campers upon leaving today having to back across multiple sites and even into the field just to be able to leave.

4. As a mother of an 11 month old I appreciate the child swings, but found it strange that both swings were missing the belt that secures the child into the swing. The one child swing looks like someone rigged it just so there are two swings as it is extremely high off the ground and not level! The other one is OK, but missing the 2nd part of the safety belt. Also I think the chains could be replaced. I would have thought #1 and #4 would have been inspected before the "unofficial" weekend that kicks off the camping season to make sure everything looks good and is in proper order.

5. The website states they have cable, but note this does mean every site has cable. We were extremely surprised by this. The website should read only select sites have cable.

6. I would like to see them improve the check in process. There is room to create two-three lanes for people to park their campers and check in. If someone was checking in and decided to shop the store this could hold up the entire line as there is not much room to get by right now. Adding lanes or parking would allow other vehicles to get by and possible keep the line moving a little quicker.

7. Upon entering the campground road, there is a speed bump/dip for both traffic coming into the campground and leaving, but no sign.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmoore406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Family friendly campground close to downtown Gettysburg. Went during a chili cook off. Live band played for entertainment! What a great time!!! Everyone was friendly, tons of activities, good public restrooms...

I will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gettysburg
1.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
407 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
7.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.3 mi away
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
5.4 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Hill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Hill Camping Resort

Property: Granite Hill Camping Resort
Address: 3340 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7329
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to relax, to delve into Civil War History, experience Gettysburg or to enjoy camping in the great outdoors, you will discover an unforgettable vacation experience at Granite Hill Camping Resort and Adventure Golf. Our Camping Resort is located just outside of historic Gettysburg and offers full amenities in the bright sunshine and forested seclusion in the tall trees, which are equally accessible within our scenic 150-acre Civil War era farm. Graced with a perfect mix of woodlands, tree-dotted meadows and grassy rolling hills, Granite Hill offers something for everyone. Regardless of your personal definition of camping – from private tent sites to spacious pull-thru sites catering to the largest RVs, and from a wide range of options in group camping to rustic cabins in a wooded setting – you will always find precisely what you need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granite Hill Camping Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing