We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest campground in Gettysburg”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granite Hill Camping Resort
Essex, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicest campground in Gettysburg”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We make at least two trips to Granite Hill every year. The first is in June, when the pool opens and the last for one of the Halloween weekends. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The campground is spotless, the sites always clean and well kept. There are plenty of activities for the entire family. We have stayed at other campgrounds in the area and found Granite Hill to be the best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    19
    23
    16
See reviews for
81
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've been camping here with my family since the very early 70's, first with my parents and now with my husband and son. Family-owned and family-oriented, this campground has a wonderful sense of community. Problems are solved in a timely manner and there are lots of activities for all ages. My favorite activity is swinging on the hand-pump swings that have always been there.
There's fishing, shuffleboard, bingo, dancing, horseshoes, tennis, swimming and kayaking. Really, what more could you ask for? See you this summer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We made the mistake of camping here a week before Halloween. The management does not allow check in--even for those with reservations-- until 3:00. This results in a long line of vehicles in the arrival lane. Several people simply abandoned their RV's to go to the office and get in line ahead of those who waited in their vehicles, thus creating an unfair spot assignment system. Tempers flared and the entire check in process was atrocious. We ended up across from 6 young adults who were drunk and loud from 4pm until way after 11pm. When another camper asked them to quiet down a bit --I heard the exchange and it was a very polite request--their response was "#*-! off," that they did not have to be quite until after 11. Security was notified as their campfire was extremely large and burning the leaves on the tree above their driveway. Security did not come and as far as I could tell did nothing to discourage this type of drunken activity. Indeed quiet hours do not begin until 11pm--way too late for those of us who like a bit of peace and quiet at bed time. Children were running wild all over the place and large bonfires were allowed in driveways as well as campfire rings. All in all it was a terrible experience and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Profnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We've been staying at Granite Hill since 2003. We've had nothing but great experiences. Office staff is always friendly and very helpful. If we do have any issues they are always taken care of in a timely manner. Chris, the Operations Manager usually drives by and stops for a chat to see if everything is ok or if we need anything. The pool in the summer is well maintained and their are plenty of activities for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyR043978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stay here each May and August for the Bluegrass Festivals, and we camp a few other times also. The staff is always friendly and very courteous and the campground is always well maintained. Any time we have had a problem they are anxious to get it resolved. I would highly recommend staying here for your Gettysburg visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluegrassGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have been camping at Granite Hill now for several years for the Halloween weekend. The campground is always full of activities for all ages that are alot of fun (pumpkin carving, costume contest, haunted barn and dance just to name a few) We decided that we enjoyed it so much over Halloween that we wanted to go there during the summer as well. Again, the activities were unlimited. They had an awesome pool party with a DJ, and also a free chicken dinner that was put on by the campground. I have never been to a campground that the dinner was served for free. All other campgrounds charge for this kind of dinner. The staff at this campground is very friendly and there to answer any questions that you may have the the campsites are very clean and spacious. Granite Hill gets a 5 stars from the Wolf family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just had a rally at Granite Hill Resort Campground and the staff bent over backwards to give us a wonderful time. They fixed several meals for us and we didn't have to clean up afterwards and to me that is a big deal. The camprgound is close enough to do the touristy things in Gettysburg. I would go back there again with a group or without a group. Thank you all for a wonderful time.
Sue Richardson

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
431 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
56 reviews
7.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Hill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Hill Camping Resort

Property: Granite Hill Camping Resort
Address: 3340 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7329
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to relax, to delve into Civil War History, experience Gettysburg or to enjoy camping in the great outdoors, you will discover an unforgettable vacation experience at Granite Hill Camping Resort and Adventure Golf. Our Camping Resort is located just outside of historic Gettysburg and offers full amenities in the bright sunshine and forested seclusion in the tall trees, which are equally accessible within our scenic 150-acre Civil War era farm. Graced with a perfect mix of woodlands, tree-dotted meadows and grassy rolling hills, Granite Hill offers something for everyone. Regardless of your personal definition of camping – from private tent sites to spacious pull-thru sites catering to the largest RVs, and from a wide range of options in group camping to rustic cabins in a wooded setting – you will always find precisely what you need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granite Hill Camping Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing