We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$ $ $”
Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, specialty sandwiches and seasonal salads. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“$ $ $”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you like fine food and great service this is for you. We went for a light lunch and were please with soup and salad. Atmosphere is good, not modern but then again not really a period piece.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wallyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable lunch with us. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    116
    22
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“excellent food & service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our server Josie was very friendly and attentive during the course of our entire meal and made our dining experience unforgettable. Also John,the manager, greeted us and made us feel very welcome. A 5 star experience. We highly
recommend Josie as your server.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you had an excellent dining experience with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with Josie and John. We look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent meal, great service”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our families Mother's day dinner. We actually made reservations at the Appalachian Brewing Company, but when we got there, they mysterious had no room for our party of 9. My husband went to Garibold's and they directed us to 1863. They sat us right away. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the prices were perfect. It was probably the best mistake we ever made!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoffroth05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for dining in our 1863 Restaurant for Mother's Day. I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered with your reservations at the Appalachian Brewery. I am glad to hear that you were able to dine with us and had such a wonderful experience. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice end to our day”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Usually hotel restaurants are not good, but his one is! We just had a lovely meal . The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was fresh and delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our 1863 Dining survey. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had an enjoyable meal and found the staff, Linda and Liz very friendly. The manager came and spoke with us to ensure that the meal was to our satisfaction. A very pleasant experience all round

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our 1863 Dining survey. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with Linda, Liz and John, our 1863 Manager. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing