We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, specialty sandwiches and seasonal salads. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great food and hospitality. Amanda our server and Linda our hostess were so pleasant and gave us great service as well as directions to various events. They made our dining feel like home. We would definitely seek out hotel and restuarant again when traveling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. I will share you kind words with Linda and Amanda. They both enjoy their position, as you could tell. We look forward to welcoming you to our 1863 Restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    113
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, slow service, a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant during my business trip. The food was absolutely amazing. The iced tea was fresh brewed and delicious. Lunch was excellent. I had the tuna steak sandwich and I've never had a sandwich so delicious. However, the service was slow and the lunch was quite pricey (approximate dinner prices for a small lunch). The atmosphere was excellent and professional as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant dining experience and the food was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Gettysburg, PA, recently for our third anniversary, and decided to have dinner at 1863. Knowing it was our anniversary, they brought us free champagne and a yummy appetizer. The service was excellent (Caitlin was our server), and the our meals were delicious. As it turns out, they were hosting an event in their restaurant that night, so seated us in an adjacent area which turned out to be cozier. The hostess, Linda, was very friendly and helpful regarding area attractions, and we had a lovely conversation with the manager of the restaurant. We would definitely go back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your dining experience in our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you chose 1863 to celebrate your anniversary and that we provided such a nice dining expereince for you. I will be sure to share your kind words with Caitlin, Linda and John. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lauren and Linda were wonderful, we had a great dinner the food was great. We would refer all to this place for a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greatjubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that we met your dining expectations and provided a nice dining experience for you. I will share your kind words wtih Linda and Lauren. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Level Contributor
203 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, nicely decorated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We dined here Sunday, September 22nd.
Our friends ordered the hummus to start
We all had some. We eat quite a bit of hummus
and we agreed this was some of the best hummus we ever had
I ordered the vegetable risotto, the risotto was ok.
Our friend ordered the summer salad and he said he would order the
Salad again.

My husband and our friend both ordered the duck.
They ate every bite and said it had nice flavoring and would
Order the duck again.

I ordered the chicken gemelli very cheesy and lightly seasoned

We were all pleasantly surprised that Our meals were very good.

The bread is a little on the harder side and we prefer softer breads.
The fresh brewed tea is ok.

We would definitely dine here again in the future.


  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curiouspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you had a nice dining experience and enjoyed the food as well. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our 1863 Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing