We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, not fantastic.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, specialty sandwiches and seasonal salads. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, not fantastic.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food I had was good, but rather greasy. While I didn't have a chance to try all the foods (the computer system was down - plus I can't eat all the foods at once!) the menu did look quite delicious. Prices certainly aren't cheap, but that's to be expected at a hotel restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    113
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff and Food- Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a wonderful experince at 1863. Starting with Linda our hostess to Joseph our server to Natasha the evening manager, the service was top notch. We were seated at a very private table for two. The staff were attentative, but not intrusive. Joe mentioned how much he loved his job and it shows. The restaurant is beautiful without being stuffy. The meal is one of the best I've had. I ordered the pork chop. It was over a corn salsa. The pork was perfectly cooked, and very moist. The brussel sprouts were amazing with bacon giving them a smokey flavor. My husband ordered a salad and flatbreads and thought they were amazing. We both had the creme brulee` cheesecake. The best we've had. Pricing is spot on considering the service and food. Take the time to dine in this amazing restaurant located inside the Wyndham Hotel. The hotel also has a wonderful bar with that old world feel. It reminds me of a turn of the century gentlemens club. Definitely 5 stars!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. The restaurant was located right inside the hotel that we were staying in, so it was relaxing to come back to the hotel and then just go downstairs for dinner. We both had the duck with the risotto...I cannot say enough about how great it was and the presentation was beautiful as well! The staff was attentive, we had also eaten breakfast here a couple of mornings and it was very good as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enjoyed 1863”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a pleasant dinner at the Wyndham Gettysburg without leaving the hotel! The 1863 Restaurant menu is small but still provided many good options for our tastes. I missed ordering a local wine as they were not on the initial wine list. They are listed on the back of the menu; my fault for not looking further. I had the Caesar salad and it was a LARGE salad with a great dressing including some white anchovies! I chose the Chicken Wild Mushroom Gemelli. It was truly delicious with an assortment of mushrooms, shallots and a very rich cream sauce with a hint of tarragon flavor. Very filling! ! My husband selected the slow roasted pork chop with pan jus. It came with brussel sprouts, baby carrots and a corn puree. We really appreciate it when the side dishes are treated with respect. The roasted halved brussel sprouts were enhanced with bacon lardons - very tasty - and the corn puree greatly enhanced the whole dish. Nicely done. Our server was friendly and professional - never intrusive - there when we needed him. We left full and impressed! Wish 1863 were a little closer to home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deed57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restraunt is located in the Wyndham Hotel in Gettysburg, Pa. We were a group of 18 for dinner. I ordered a ribeye steak done medium. It came out medium rare as it did for others at the table that ordered the same thing. My wife ordered the Trout, and 3 or 4 others she said it was very bland and had to ask for lemon to put on it to give it some taste. The menue is very limited.
All in all not worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Historian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing