We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hallowed Ground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg National Cemetery

Gettysburg National Cemetery
Book In Advance
$98.99*
and up
Ranked #4 of 95 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hallowed Ground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Some say this is a cemetery, but I contend it's more than that. Very well maintained, beautifully landscaped but not so much as to detract from its importance. The numerous, huge trees add to the grandeur, as do the original placement of canon, silent as they are, but still tell of the tale. Well placed benches to provide comfort and meditation to connect on a, 'different plane of existence'. Best experienced at dusk, when the rest of the physical world is not as distracting. I wish it would be open 24 hours so as to allow those to connect easier without the distractions of the daytime hustle and bustle. None the less, I stayed until I was politely asked to leave, and had connected enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    199
    27
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to a National Park Service Ranger guided tour and it was very informative. A must to understand the history of the Cemetery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapeetraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place of Honor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We did the audio tour and it brought us to the Soldiers Cemetery. What a beautiful place. It is a well kept cemetery that honors the fallen soldiers of both sides of the war. It is so sad that so many had to give up their lives for this war the yound and old alike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoloCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Puts it all in perspective!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hollowed ground, indeed. Visited on Memorial Day - beautiful service and commemoration. If you visit Gettysburg and don't come here, you miss a significant part of this battle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It brought tears to our eyes and transported us back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Gettyburg for the first time and wanted to do it on our own to take our time. We happened upon a young man tour guide playing a union soldier who was mesmerizing. He was so good and had us all in tears with his speech and the delivery of his words along with his real tears. He should be on Broadway, no kidding! Such a serene place to recall what happened so many years ago.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wapanucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing