We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Gettysburg National Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 107 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Delson, QC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited the cemetary, very nice and quuiet place. It is chilling to see the age these soldiers died. Very young. Nice monuments, Nice way to remeber. These men will never be forgotten. All in the name of liberty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,153
    225
    31
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grandmahenry
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“If only the weather cooperated!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was drizzly and chilly but the cemetery is fascinating. There are lots of different sections and monuments galore!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very sobering”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were able to take the Park Ranger guided tour of the cemetery which I recommend to everyone. It is free of charge and the Visitors Center will tell you the times. The information is very interesting and it is unbelievable how the townspeople had to deal with all the deaths that occurred in the 3 days of the battle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muncher53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visit after you tour the battlefield”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two days at Gettysburg in September. Visited the cemetary on the afternoon of the second day as we considered it the final leg of our Gettysburg tour. Parking lots are located on Taneytown Road across the street from the cemetary's main entrance. We used the print-out of the self-guided walking tour I found on the cemetary's website. However, there is also a park ranger or volunteer tour guide walking around to provide information and answer questions. We spent about an hour walking through the cemetary and paying our respects. There are restroom facilities on the far end of the cemetary (on the Baltimore Turnpike side.)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RestedSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very profound!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed a very, profound and sad tour seeing just a small portion of our lost heroes not only dating back to the civil war but all wars. Also seeing where President Lincoln gave his "Gettysburg address" was an extra added must see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tnpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing