We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable room, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The room was clean and comfortable. However, they are not really suites. The 1-bedroom suite is really just a largish hotel room with 2 beds and sofa-bed. The 2-bedroom suites just have a second bedroom attached. The second room is rather sparse - e.g. there is no additional closet. But it cost more than we paid for a proper suite (separate living room, kitchen) in all the other hotels we stayed in on our holiday. The room contained a notice that appeared to be offering items for sale but was in fact telling you how much you will be charged if you take items such as towels, duvets or the coffee-maker. I have never stayed in any other hotel that found it necessary to remind me not to steal anything.
The hotel is in a very good location. It is very close to the battlefield visitor centre - most of the other hotels are on the other side of town. However, as previous reviewers have noted it is next to the cemetary - the nearest gravestones were less than 5 meters from our window so if you are easily spooked by such things this may not be the hotel for you.
The breakfast was included in the rate and was ok.
Overall, a perfectly adequate hotel, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,517)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Hi, I stayed in 10 hotels over 21 days this summer. With the exception of a luxury Marriott resort, the Comfort Inn Suites in Gettysburg was my number one choice! All of the other hotels were similar in amenities (Country Inn, Holiday Inn Express), etc. Excellent location (just minutes to Gettysburg Visitors Center and downtown historic Gettysburg), LARGE rooms, Loved the big bathroom with LOTS of counter space, $110 rate, and the view of Evergreen Cemetery. The hotel is located on a diagonal from the main room. Parking lot is in front with trees on the left back side and the cemetery directly in the rear. Very quiet (have included photos). I do agree with the reviewer who noted that it became crowded at breakfast. However, I took my meal out to the lobby and joined a nice couple who had traveled to all 50 states. Another nice memory of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We had a great stay in Gettysburg at your Comfort Suites. Everything was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was very helpful (especially the lady who recommended La Bella's Italian Restaurant ... it was great). Our only complaints (and they're not really complaints, only concerns): everyone seemed to be eating breakfast at the same time (9 a.m.), and there weren't enough tables & chairs; and, only one elevator made it very hard to get everyone up and down for breakfast and checkout. We stayed at another Comfort Suites a couple weeks ago in Springfield, Ohio, and it was very similar to yours, but it had two elevators. It made things much smoother. We realize these two things are design flaws, and they in no way reflect on the manager. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay! Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is brand new and kept up. Rooms are large and inviting. Morning breakfast and coffee available all day were a nice touch. Very nice large lobby and welcoming staff at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher3162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

With a family of 5, we have difficulty finding a room to accomodate us. These rooms comfortably slept 5. I would stay here again. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and breakfast was good. The rate was also reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajbivmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Comfort Suites with three teenagers. Our one bedroom suite was spacious enough for the five of us. We appreciated the decently large mini-refrigerator and microwave in room. The safe in the closet was easy to use and large enough to hold our 3 laptops and garmin. The beds were VERY comfortable. Breakfast is from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. and included eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, english muffins, toast, butter, margarine, jams, waffles (you make yourself), oatmeal packets, muffins, pastries, yogurt, four kinds of cereal (Special K, Rice Krispies, Froot Loops, and Frosted Flakes) 2% and 1% milk, coffee, tea, orange juice and apple juice from what I remember. There is a computer and printer in the lobby for guests' use. The room was cleaned well each day, and shampoos, conditioner, soap and lotion were provided. There was a hair dryer and a coffee maker with coffees and teas provided. The staff was friendly.

The hotel backs right up to Evergreen Cemetery, which is adjacent to Gettysburg National Cemetery. From our hotel, you could enjoy a quiet stroll through the historic cemetery which in turn abuts the town of Gettysburg. A less than half mile drive in the other direction on Baltimore Pike puts you at the entrance to the new Gettysburg National Park Visitor Center and Cyclorama.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Close to all attractions and affordable. The only issue was the tub was very slow to drain when showering. Overall, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $76 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing