We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Comfortable, but Oh That Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Comfortable, but Oh That Breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel is perhaps one year old and everything is new and clean. My room was spotless and extremely quiet and comfortable. Good air conditioner, exceptionally comfortable beds and a good shower. Would have been nice if the windows opened, but that's minor.

It's located about half a mile from town and about the same distance from the Park Service Gettysburg Visitors Center (which is a must-see). I really liked that we were not in the middle of the overly touristy, busy and noisy downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The one negative and in my opinion misleading aspect of this hotel is the breakfast they offer. The ads and writeups tout free HOT continental breakfast. Well, fruit, cerail, yogurt and even make your own waffles are good. But the extraterrestrial substance they called scrambled eggs was incredibly horrible. There is no kitchen, so they can't cook fresh eggs. Instead, they serve prepackaged (maybe frozen?) eggs that are then heated. Awful, awful, awful. The sausages were ok, but tasted like the cheapest supermarket brand they could find. Suggestion: Don't serve any eggs and expand the fresh fruit and pastry selection.

Also, there is only one elevator. The cleaning staff uses it, too, because there isn't a service elevator. I didn't mind, but if it was a very crowded weekend you could wait a while. But then, you can take the stairs down. Very small detail. 'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    420
    131
    32
    20
See reviews for
666
476
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Right when we walked in the door, Michelle and Haman greeted us with a very friendly greeting. Haman asked about what we wanted instead of telling us what they had, then he put us in a nice room with a view. Haman also explained the rewards program and gave me the info to join. Because of Haman, we are staying in Choice hotels all the way home to Florida. We asked for a late check out and received no negative reaction like we have from other hotels. The mgr was on duty when we checked out and was very acommodating as well. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. Thanks for 2 great nights!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2010

everything was great. minor morning problem was that breakfast room too small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettysburg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We arrived in Gettysburg on Monday morning. Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sleeper sofa, a large tv and a desk. The room was immaculate. The beds were extremely comfy, although we did pull out the sleeper sofa to check it out on the second night of our stay and I would not recommend it for a teenager or an adult. The room had a coffee maker and a hairdryer, body soap, facial soap, shampoo and conditioner. Their breakfast in the morning was exceptionally good. Scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, and the best part a waffle maker! They also had orange juice, apple juice, water, coffee and tea. We ate soo much for breakfast that we were not hungry for lunch! The front desk personnel were friendly and polite. The only negative thing for me was that the pool was very small. They also had a exercise room that we didn't use. They are very close to the visitor's center as well as the strip with a lot of tourist attractions such as ghost hunts, food and little shops. I would definitely be going back to this hotel in the future and highly recommend them. We got a great rate through their facebook page. They also put out chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon, very yummy and free high speed internet access.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Comfort Suites - Gettysburg was wonderful place for our family to relax and feel a bit pampered. We spent 2 night there relaxing in the comfortable, clean rooms. The breakfast was delicious and offered many choices. Hope we get back there soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfynquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

everything about this comfort suites was great. The location was very central to everything. The rooms were very clean and spacious, breakfast was a good selection of items, the staff was very friendly ,the grounds were well kept. EVertthing was just perfect would definitely stay here again and higly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

First time in Gettysburg. I reserved from AAA.com with my discount. We went to the National Park Visitor Center first. Was thrilled to find out the hotel was minutes away. It's location is in the middle of the downtown and the visitors' center. The free breakfast was amazing. Room was large and had fridge and m/w oven. Free wifi. WIll come back our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibob18052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Property: Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing