We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just OK. Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just OK. Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room was ok and neat. Bed was a little hard. Breakfast was a hot breakfast. Elevator was slow. CHeck in and check out clerk nice. Some of the mail staff that helped out with cleaning in the a.m. did not realize that when going on or off an elevator, ladies come first. They pushed for themselves to come first.
Good parking and very close to the battlefield.

Room Tip: SInce elevator is slow,don't go to the third or fourth floow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad you experienced a smooth check-in and out and found our front desk personnel friendly and accommodating. We are also happy you found our rooms neat, parking convenient and location perfect for taking in the battlefield and other historic sights.
I apologize for any inconsideration by any staff member regarding the use of the elevator and will gently pass on the reminder.
We certainly hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    393
    119
    32
    19
See reviews for
628
446
44
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel had the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Helpful and informative as well. The rooms are new, clean, spacious (we had plenty of room for 5 of us in a two queen bed, one pull out couch room) and nicely decorated. The breakfast is included and delicious; and coffee and tea available all day. The pool was a little cold and is on the small side, but there are so many things to do: Just steps away from the hotel is the battlefield and all the commemorative monuments, restaurants and shops are just one block away. What a pleasant stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a room on the opposite side from the cemetery if the sight of gravestones freaks you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyDanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear HappyDanni,
First, I love your user name! What a wonderful thing to hear about our staff and I will be sure to pass on the compliments. We are right in the center of everything you should see and do when in the area and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the location to shop or eat as well as take in the many wonderful museums and attractions. I'm glad our complimentary hot breakfast was a good way to start your day. Were you able to take a tour 250 feet in the air of the new Helium balloon?
We hope you come back again soon, maybe for a winter get-a-way to ski or snowtube, or perhaps take in a show at the beautifully restored Majestic Theater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Room was clean and adequate for our stay. Beds very comfortable. Bathroom was questionable, commode leaked and left water on the floors. Towels smelled. Side entrance door to hotel was broken with a sign that read just pull door to enter, no security.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Judy S,
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you found the rooms clean and our exceptional bedding comfortable. I'm sorry you experienced the unfortunate side door, as there was special part in the lock that had to be replaced and it was only open for a day or 2. We do however, have security cameras that our front desk personnel monitor. We feel we have a quality hotel is an outstanding location, and are priced right for the busy summer season, however rate is also driven largely by demand. The area has exceptional rates in the winter and offers skiing and snow tubing for your next visit!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very pleased with staff attentiveness, cleanliness, and amenities for this location. Breakfast was exactly as expected. Busy dining area but to be expected when everyone is heading out to the same attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I really appreciate the breakfast comments, as it's refreshing to hear that someone understands that if everyone tries to have breakfast (which is open for 3 hours) at the same time, it WILL be crowded! Just like eating at your favorite restaurant, sometimes, if all the tables are taken, you have to wait! We are so glad you enjoyed our dedicated, helpful staff and clean rooms! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived in Gettysburg from WV and located hotel on google. I was extremely pleased with the accomodations at this location. The rooms were clean, bed extremely comfortable, and bath & bed linens were high end. The breakfast was very good, with a large selection of choices. Staff was courteous and very helpful. We asked for recommdations for dinner and was given an excellent establishment. I would definitely stay here again, hands down!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Maria M,
Thank you for the glowing review! We are "Hands down" happy you chose to stay with us on your recent trip! Many guests comment on the quality of our bedding, pillow and fluffy towels, and are glad you thought so too! We certainly look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited Gettysburg Memorial Day weekend for a soccer tournament. Being picky about hotel rooms, we opted not to stay where the rest of the team was staying, but rather book at the Comfort Suites Gettysburg. The reviews seemed good, was to be updated and figured paying more would mean better quality. Not so. We paid a significant amount more than friends, and what a waste! This room, while updated, was NOT clean. Stains on the carpet, some black mark on the white pillow. The worst was the air conditioning! It appeared to not work. We did not sleep well at all the first night. I called the front desk about 11pm, the girl suggesting unplugging the unit and plugging it back in and said there was nothing else she knew to do. Spoke with the front desk clerk the following morning. When we returned, the room was still not cool. Typically hotel rooms are freezing to us, so we know it was not us, but this unit was not working properly, and the front desk clerk could only say that "even the manager looked at it and said it was working fine." Clearly it was not, so was the unit too small for the room? I'm not sure, but made for two very miserable nights of sleep. It was the end of May, it was hot out. We feel there was no excuse for this and we paid far too much money for an unclean, hot, stuffy room! Two of our family members ate breakfast one of the mornings and it was just "ok." The only positive was the location. The location was convenient to our tournament, as well as our tour of the battle grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Beth A,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not pleased with your stay, but wish I had read about your issues earlier, rather than 3 months after your stay. Most guests find our rooms large, clean and comfortable and I'm sorry you did not find this the case. While we feel we offer a quality experience, rate itself is driven by demand and between Memorial Day weekend AND the Gettysburg soccer tournament, you are looking at one of, if not the busiest weekend of the year. Our rates are in line with what the area commands at that time. The rest of your team may have taken advantage of a group rate at their hotel and there were teams who did the same at ours, and even have re-booked for next May. Again, it it our goal to provide the best possible guest experience to each and every guest and I do sincerely apologize if we fell short. We do hope you will consider staying again, perhaps a winter trip to ski, taking advantage of fantastic off season rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights and it was exactly what we wanted. A quiet place to rest and spend the night after touring the battlefields. The staff was courteous and the location of the hotel was just what we wanted. The only negative we had was the breakfast. It was fine, but it would have been nice had there been different types of food instead of the same thing every day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Keving J,
Thank you for the lovely comments. We are certainly glad we were perfect for your vacation get-a-way. While the food is fairly consistent at breakfast, it is designed with enough choices that you could have something different each day...maybe waffles one day, cereal and fruit, eggs and sausage, supplemented by the pastries, muffins, toast and yogurt. We do hope you will stay with us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Property: Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing