We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very pleased with staff attentiveness, cleanliness, and amenities for this location. Breakfast was exactly as expected. Busy dining area but to be expected when everyone is heading out to the same attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! I really appreciate the breakfast comments, as it's refreshing to hear that someone understands that if everyone tries to have breakfast (which is open for 3 hours) at the same time, it WILL be crowded! Just like eating at your favorite restaurant, sometimes, if all the tables are taken, you have to wait! We are so glad you enjoyed our dedicated, helpful staff and clean rooms! Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived in Gettysburg from WV and located hotel on google. I was extremely pleased with the accomodations at this location. The rooms were clean, bed extremely comfortable, and bath & bed linens were high end. The breakfast was very good, with a large selection of choices. Staff was courteous and very helpful. We asked for recommdations for dinner and was given an excellent establishment. I would definitely stay here again, hands down!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Maria M,
Thank you for the glowing review! We are "Hands down" happy you chose to stay with us on your recent trip! Many guests comment on the quality of our bedding, pillow and fluffy towels, and are glad you thought so too! We certainly look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited Gettysburg Memorial Day weekend for a soccer tournament. Being picky about hotel rooms, we opted not to stay where the rest of the team was staying, but rather book at the Comfort Suites Gettysburg. The reviews seemed good, was to be updated and figured paying more would mean better quality. Not so. We paid a significant amount more than friends, and what a waste! This room, while updated, was NOT clean. Stains on the carpet, some black mark on the white pillow. The worst was the air conditioning! It appeared to not work. We did not sleep well at all the first night. I called the front desk about 11pm, the girl suggesting unplugging the unit and plugging it back in and said there was nothing else she knew to do. Spoke with the front desk clerk the following morning. When we returned, the room was still not cool. Typically hotel rooms are freezing to us, so we know it was not us, but this unit was not working properly, and the front desk clerk could only say that "even the manager looked at it and said it was working fine." Clearly it was not, so was the unit too small for the room? I'm not sure, but made for two very miserable nights of sleep. It was the end of May, it was hot out. We feel there was no excuse for this and we paid far too much money for an unclean, hot, stuffy room! Two of our family members ate breakfast one of the mornings and it was just "ok." The only positive was the location. The location was convenient to our tournament, as well as our tour of the battle grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Beth A,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not pleased with your stay, but wish I had read about your issues earlier, rather than 3 months after your stay. Most guests find our rooms large, clean and comfortable and I'm sorry you did not find this the case. While we feel we offer a quality experience, rate itself is driven by demand and between Memorial Day weekend AND the Gettysburg soccer tournament, you are looking at one of, if not the busiest weekend of the year. Our rates are in line with what the area commands at that time. The rest of your team may have taken advantage of a group rate at their hotel and there were teams who did the same at ours, and even have re-booked for next May. Again, it it our goal to provide the best possible guest experience to each and every guest and I do sincerely apologize if we fell short. We do hope you will consider staying again, perhaps a winter trip to ski, taking advantage of fantastic off season rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights and it was exactly what we wanted. A quiet place to rest and spend the night after touring the battlefields. The staff was courteous and the location of the hotel was just what we wanted. The only negative we had was the breakfast. It was fine, but it would have been nice had there been different types of food instead of the same thing every day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Keving J,
Thank you for the lovely comments. We are certainly glad we were perfect for your vacation get-a-way. While the food is fairly consistent at breakfast, it is designed with enough choices that you could have something different each day...maybe waffles one day, cereal and fruit, eggs and sausage, supplemented by the pastries, muffins, toast and yogurt. We do hope you will stay with us on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Easy to find and just up the road from the battlefield park visitors' centre. Lots of parking. Friendly and helpful staff.

Pros:
Convenient. Comfortable. Reasonable rate. Average breakfast buffet.

Cons:
Fridge was dirty when we arrived. We told the staff and they had someone scrub it out within 5 minutes. Excellent response.
Ceiling fixture was not working but it didn't detract from our stay. We let the staff know when we departed.
The rooms on the back side of the building overlook the cemetery. It looks like the nearest grave sites are only 15 feet or so away. Not a problem if you're not creeped out easily or at least if you are expecting it.
They must have just treated the pool because the entire lobby/common area smelled of chlorine.

The biggest problem is the single elevator. It is painfully slow and a real problem during the morning check out time.

I would stay here again but I might ask for a room facing the parking lot and I would try to get a room on the lowest floor possible.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Fusilier111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the many great things our property offers including plenty of free parking, great location, free breakfast and friendly, attentive staff! We're sorry you did not enjoy the cemetery view, but you will be surprised to know they are the most requested rooms! Our 1st floor rooms do not require use of the elevator, and are front facing, so please feel free to request that next time! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staff was all prepared for us at check in, providing us with exactly what we requested. Room had the extra space with a sofa that was nice since we had two teens. Breakfast was more than sufficient for us. Clean, comfortable, close to National Park site and easy access to downtown. Only one negative which kept it from 5 stars. We stayed two days and the room was not made up until 4 pm.

Room Tip: Very popular. Reserve early.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Gettysburg and taking time to share your experience. We are so glad you found the rooms clean and spacious for your family of 4 and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and prime location. I'm sorry you were disappointed in the time frame of which your room was cleaned. Our housekeepers work until about 5pm daily and unfortunately someone falls into the end of the day! Generally, they clean the checked out rooms first so they are ready by 3pm for our next guests, followed by the stay-overs. Next time, if you need to have your room done earlier in the day, let our staff know and we will try to accommodate!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed for 10 days to do business in Gettysburg. It was exactly what I expected, which was what I wanted. Good location, clean room and public areas, thoughtful staff, great bed, good breakfast. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Betsy941,
It was our pleasure to have you for a nice long stay! We are so happy everything was just as you needed it for a successful business trip. We hope your travels bring you back to our area and are able to stay with us again sometime!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $76 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing