We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$140
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn and Suites(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
James Gettys Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveler rating
908
442
138
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
442
138
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevergreen cemeterypike restaurantvisitor centerwafflesroom was cleanthe breakfast areabaltimore pikewould stay here againindoor poolfree breakfastnational parkgreat place to staystaff was very friendly and helpfulclose to townconvenient locationparking lotvisiting gettysburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well, I have stayed in many hotels in many countries, but never one where a few feet and I mean a few, from the bedroom window are graves.
Not Civil War graves, thank god, but to be that close to graves is something that I never expected or seen before. Hopefully the hotel was not built on re-located graves.
That said, the hotel was in a good location for the main purpose to visit the area, and it was very quiet and peaceful ( sorry, no pun intended )

Room Tip: Those not wishing to view graves, should request a front facing room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverywhereObserver, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

I thank you very much for taking your valuable time for posting the review. I am happy to know that you were pleased with your stay us , but had mix opinion about the location of hotel. I can assure you there there were no grave stones moved to built this hotel (at least not in last 70 years) .

There was an older hotel on this ground for over 70 years. Recently it was demolished to built this new modern facility to fulfill the need of modern travelers, with the approval from National Park Services, local township, board of historic preservation and all various agency and organizations that look after preservation of Gettysburg landscape.
Twenty five years ago the grave sites were not as close as you see it todayI have personally seen over the years , (as the space get started to get filled in the cemetery) the new graves came closer and closer to the old hotel building while the old hotel have not moved and was re-built at same location.

As you are aware that in 1863 over 50,000 have lost their lives in the civil war. Gettysburg have thousands of grave stones and hundreds of monument. Entire town of Gettysburg was once a cemetery with very few buildings. Over the period of 150 years the town have grown with many of buildings around the grave stones. There are many buildings and homes that have grave stone or monuments either in their back yard or front yard or both.

I am happy to know that you feel " the hotel was in a good location for the main purpose to visit the area". The main purpose of over million plus visitors to Gettysburg is to visit National cemetery. 50% of the hotel rooms are over looking the National Cemetery that is next to the privet Evergreen Cemetery. 50% of the rooms are overlooking the new visitor center. The cemetery VIEW rooms are always in high demand. Many guest specially make request 'cemetery view room' in their reservation.There are many days that we can not fulfill everyone's request for cemetery view rooms..

You might find some past Tripadvisor review that guest have actually preferred this hotel because of cemetery view. I can understand and respect your opinion that there are people are not very comfortable with view of grave stone. I also agree with your opinion that "it is very quite and peaceful" and that is what is expected from a hotel stay, a good night sleep after busy day of traveling or visiting the battlefield. Love to see you back and be sure you ask for "the room with visitor center view".

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our fourth stay at this hotel. We always find the rooms very clean and well maintained. WFI in the room has always worked when needed. Staff is helpful and very friendly. An easy walk to Civil War shops and a short drive to the National Park Visitor Center and the Gettysburg Outlet Mall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel had a great staff; very helpful and always friendly. The hotel was at a great location and it was near many of the main attractions in town. We would definitely go back. Can't think of anything to complain about, and that's a rareity these days! We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcuri1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I can honestly say that there is not one thing I found wrong staying at this hotel for three nights. Not one.

Front desk staff was always helpful with wake-up calls, knowing movie times, etc. Always smiling and friendly greets when walking by.

Housekeeping staff done a great job. No rogue hairs in the bathroom.(One of my top pet peeves). The bed sheets were clean and fresh.

The location was perfect. Far enough from all the hustle and bustle of down town but close enough to feel a part of all the history of the area. The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet, even with a restaurant/bar next door.

We opted for a room with a cemetery view and it certainly wasn't disappointing. The hotel is literally 20 to 30 feet from tombstones. At night time there are absolutely no lights emanating from the graveyard at all. No security lights, no building lights, no lights period. Definitely upped the "creep" factor.

We stayed through Thanksgiving and on Thanksgiving Day the hotel offered a very nice cheese and cracker plate with cookies and pretzels served with warm apple cider. A very thoughtful touch.

I can say with certainty that I will be staying here again on future Gettysburg trips.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed one night and out of your options in Gettysburg this is by far the best. Not only is the hotel new and clean but the value for what you pay is fantastic.
The restaurant next door is also good with really great service. It's an awesome town to visit and at this hotel it's affordable as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews