We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping with the dead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sleeping with the dead”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well, I have stayed in many hotels in many countries, but never one where a few feet and I mean a few, from the bedroom window are graves.
Not Civil War graves, thank god, but to be that close to graves is something that I never expected or seen before. Hopefully the hotel was not built on re-located graves.
That said, the hotel was in a good location for the main purpose to visit the area, and it was very quiet and peaceful ( sorry, no pun intended )

Room Tip: Those not wishing to view graves, should request a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverywhereObserver, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I thank you very much for taking your valuable time for posting the review. I am happy to know that you were pleased with your stay us , but had mix opinion about the location of hotel. I can assure you there there were no grave stones moved to built this hotel (at least not in last 70 years) .

There was an older hotel on this ground for over 70 years. Recently it was demolished to built this new modern facility to fulfill the need of modern travelers, with the approval from National Park Services, local township, board of historic preservation and all various agency and organizations that look after preservation of Gettysburg landscape.
Twenty five years ago the grave sites were not as close as you see it todayI have personally seen over the years , (as the space get started to get filled in the cemetery) the new graves came closer and closer to the old hotel building while the old hotel have not moved and was re-built at same location.

As you are aware that in 1863 over 50,000 have lost their lives in the civil war. Gettysburg have thousands of grave stones and hundreds of monument. Entire town of Gettysburg was once a cemetery with very few buildings. Over the period of 150 years the town have grown with many of buildings around the grave stones. There are many buildings and homes that have grave stone or monuments either in their back yard or front yard or both.

I am happy to know that you feel " the hotel was in a good location for the main purpose to visit the area". The main purpose of over million plus visitors to Gettysburg is to visit National cemetery. 50% of the hotel rooms are over looking the National Cemetery that is next to the privet Evergreen Cemetery. 50% of the rooms are overlooking the new visitor center. The cemetery VIEW rooms are always in high demand. Many guest specially make request 'cemetery view room' in their reservation.There are many days that we can not fulfill everyone's request for cemetery view rooms..

You might find some past Tripadvisor review that guest have actually preferred this hotel because of cemetery view. I can understand and respect your opinion that there are people are not very comfortable with view of grave stone. I also agree with your opinion that "it is very quite and peaceful" and that is what is expected from a hotel stay, a good night sleep after busy day of traveling or visiting the battlefield. Love to see you back and be sure you ask for "the room with visitor center view".

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    410
    127
    32
    20
See reviews for
658
473
48
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our fourth stay at this hotel. We always find the rooms very clean and well maintained. WFI in the room has always worked when needed. Staff is helpful and very friendly. An easy walk to Civil War shops and a short drive to the National Park Visitor Center and the Gettysburg Outlet Mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel had a great staff; very helpful and always friendly. The hotel was at a great location and it was near many of the main attractions in town. We would definitely go back. Can't think of anything to complain about, and that's a rareity these days! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcuri1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piketon, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I can honestly say that there is not one thing I found wrong staying at this hotel for three nights. Not one.

Front desk staff was always helpful with wake-up calls, knowing movie times, etc. Always smiling and friendly greets when walking by.

Housekeeping staff done a great job. No rogue hairs in the bathroom.(One of my top pet peeves). The bed sheets were clean and fresh.

The location was perfect. Far enough from all the hustle and bustle of down town but close enough to feel a part of all the history of the area. The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet, even with a restaurant/bar next door.

We opted for a room with a cemetery view and it certainly wasn't disappointing. The hotel is literally 20 to 30 feet from tombstones. At night time there are absolutely no lights emanating from the graveyard at all. No security lights, no building lights, no lights period. Definitely upped the "creep" factor.

We stayed through Thanksgiving and on Thanksgiving Day the hotel offered a very nice cheese and cracker plate with cookies and pretzels served with warm apple cider. A very thoughtful touch.

I can say with certainty that I will be staying here again on future Gettysburg trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed one night and out of your options in Gettysburg this is by far the best. Not only is the hotel new and clean but the value for what you pay is fantastic.
The restaurant next door is also good with really great service. It's an awesome town to visit and at this hotel it's affordable as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Other than a squeaky door & minimal breakfest...everything was great.Would definatley go back.Conviently located close to town.Very quiet,Friendly & helpful staff.We saty at comfort alot and have had some nasty rooms but this is a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs1959_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is about 1 mile from downtown, so if you don't mind walking it is a nice walk. Great hotel, friendly staff, nice little pool and fitness room. The room was in great condition and very clean. We were very pleased with our stay and will definitely stay again when we return to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.9 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Property: Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing