We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't recommend it”
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
Ranked #24 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ishpeming
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This museum was one of the better ones but it was still a waste of time and money. It needs to be updated or something. Don't go

Helpful?
Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    92
    45
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as part of our package. My kids enjoyed it. There is a short video that explains how Wills was commissioned to built he national cemetery. You can tour the rest of the house including the bedroom where Lincoln slept. Overall, pretty neat. Takes about 20 min.

Helpful?
2 Thank michelewelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
221 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The house where Lincoln stayed”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

David Willis was a Gettysburg attorney who was involved in establishing the Cemetery and battlefield park, and most famously where Abraham Lincoln spent the night before giving the Gettysburg Address. You can see the room where Lincoln slept, and other exhibits about the town at the time of the battle (a large diorama model was for me the highlight of the visit). It is interesting but nothing spectacular; visitors should note that being downtown on the square parking can be a problem, and this is a fee site for which none of the National Park Service passes apply.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiercritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped in during our tour of Gettysburg”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just happened to walk past on our recent visit to Gettysburg and decided to stop in. We are sure glad we did. The folks were all knowledgeable, incredibly friendly and quite helpful. Our tour guide was Myra who was delightful. She had a wealth of information and enthusiastically shared it with us. The exhibits and her commentary gave us a vivid sense of what life was like during those difficult times. Go on a Friday so Myra will be your guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the Lincoln Enthusiast, well worth $6.50!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stop in Gettysburg and we were very happy we decided on coming! The price was surprisingly undervalued at $6.50! The staff is incredibly friendly and 2 docents happened to be on hand for historical questions. As a Lincoln enthusiast, this place was the icing on the cake. The room/bed he spent the night in prior to delivering the famous Gettysburg address is entirely preserved! Lincoln revised his address the night he stayed here. The museum has two informative short videos and provides info in each room. This was a truly memorable experience as you feel as though you've stepped back in time to the evening Lincoln had arrived here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella_desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing