We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
8 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
866-486-5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 69 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very disappointing attraction in Gettysburg. Except for the bedroom, it captures none of the period. If you like the sort of museum that has you sitting on benches reading stuff, instead of experiencing the moment, I imagine you'd enjoy this. For me, it was boring, and I'm a huge Lincoln fan. Stay on the battlefield, or visit the cemetery, instead of wasting time here....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MaureenGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    77
    39
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A missable site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You can roam the battlefield as much as you want for free, but the NPS charges 5.50 (with a AAA discount) for a very pedestrian historic house museum. Most of the exhibits in the house were almost instantly forgotten -- the bedroom exhibit aside.

To be honest, I was disappointed overall with downtown Gettysburg. I don't know what I was expecting exactly, but the area fell short. A better museum/visitors' center would help.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank blmJamestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were glad we visited the David Wills house even though others warned us not to. They have told the story well. We were happy with our decision to visit the David Wells house.

Keep in mind this is not a guided tour. You go through at your own pace and read the story.

To some it is not detailed enough to others it is just the right amount. We agree on just the right amount.

Other are upset about the pricing for what you get to see. We were not we found the price fair.

Also some were upset about how the building was preserved and/or renovated. We feel it would be nice to be in its original condition.
However, they maintained what they could considering at some point the first floor was a Rea and Derrick drug store.

So in summarization, you learn a lot if you take the time and worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Curiouspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is only a self guided tour. It mostly consists of a few videos and displays. The Lincoln bedroom was neat but very dark and you could not use flash photography. It would have been nice if they sold postcards of the bedroom taken by a professional because your photos will not come out worth printing. The hours are 10-5 daily May through August. It was not worth the admission fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This tour was disappointing for such a wonderful man as David Wills. His house has been turned into more of a visitor center than a museum or house to tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing