We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely stop here before going to the National Cemetery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
Ranked #25 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely stop here before going to the National Cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Make sure you stop here BEFORE visiting the National Soldiers Cemetery. It gives excellent background of who designed it, the undertaking of "making it happen" and the dedication ceremony, including Lincoln's Gettysburg Address. Wills was the "go-to" guy for making the cemetery happen and he was the one who invited Lincoln to speak. Lincoln stayed here the night before giving the Gettysburg Address.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    91
    44
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place Where Linclon Stayed Night before the Gettysburg Address”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Right on the square in the heart of Gettysburg. Plenty of street parking at $1.00 per hour. Historical treasure, newly opened and reasonably priced. Full of interesting objects and exhibits. Worth the time and effort.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
304 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Important Lincoln stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a battlefield guide take us to the Wills House and we spend about an hour inside and out. We spent that much time as we were all teachers and got a much more in depth lesson on what happened there. Museum is nicely done and tells the story. Modern bathroom available as well as elevator. Bedroom is as Lincoln slept in it.(His real bed) Interesting stories, but was so much better with someone sharing them instead of reading signs and displays. Such as what he actually said to the crowds outside the hotel in his "first" Gettysburg Address and that Mrs. Wills was 8 months pregnant as she cooked for 38 people statying at the house for the cemetery dedication. Cool trivia, I guess

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I actually loved the self guided tour. Found it to be interesting and worth the money. They give military as well as AAA discount. Learned a few things that I didn't know. Especially liked that they have the actual bedspread that President Lincoln used. Definetly worth the trip

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the location where Lincoln spent the night in Gettysburg before giving the Gettysburg address. It was informative and somewhat interactive. Main point of interest is the bed where Lincoln slept. Not sure what else they could have included - maybe an actual person giving the history, rather than signage. If you want to see the room where Lincoln slept, I recommend going.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapeetraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing