We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise downtown”
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
Ranked #24 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice surprise downtown”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The museum is a nice little find on the square. It was where Lincoln stayed before delivering the Gettyburg Address. It covers the civilian impact of the Battle. It's small and tkes about 45 minutes to get through it. While the Visitor's Center and Museum could take days to get through, this is a nice short-visit museum.

Helpful?
1 Thank lilygirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    92
    45
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The updates to this house are truly beautiful. There is tons of information to take in while there, and is an important stop to see while in Getttysburg. It won't take too long to tour the house and the history that went on here played an important part in our history. Definitely make it a point to stop by and see the house.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lmp6224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go see the Lincoln Bedroom”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a good place to visit on your next trip. There is much real history to learn here and the Lincoln bedroom has been preserved to its original status. I was a little disappointed that the rest of this historic house is like a modern museum. I would have preferred to see it restored to it's actual look but there is a lot of information to be gained here.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank wsf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The National Park Service did a bang-up job of restoring this house. For many years, one could only visit an upstairs room (the "Lincoln bedroom") over a Rea and Derrick drug store. Now, the whole place is back to looking like as 19 cen building, and the displays are outstanding.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my recent visit to the David Wills house. I found it very interesting and informative. The house still has several original pieces dating back to when President Lincoln would have been there. For instance, the bed Lincoln slept in with original bed spread. I felt it was definitely felt it was worth the 6.50 I paid. I'm just glad they have taken this beautiful building and restored it. I would rather see them make a small museum out of it than it setting there empty and unkempt.

Helpful?
Thank Loucivilwarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing