We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Saint-Amand - CLOSED

Cafe Saint-Amand
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a french dip and another very interesting sandwich with an sunny side egg on top (can't remember the name). Both very good, the french dip was a little underwhelming for a French restaurant, but the other was delicious. The fries were very good and the coffee was some of the better coffee we found in Gettysburg.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CameronWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    205
    64
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast Was Tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

September 22, 2013 -We had a party of about 14 and were split into two round tables which was fine. Each table had a different server. The other table were eating their breakfast while our table was still waiting. I ordered the Croque-Madame a traditional Croque-Monsieur with ham and melted gruyére cheese on French rustic loaf accented with Dijon mustard baked to a golden brown, topped with a fried egg. I did not taste the Dijon Mustard and there was a cheese sauce poured over the sandwich, I was looking forward to picking it up and eating the sandwich and I did try although a bit messy with all the sauce poured over it - menu should state the sauce, but it does not. Usually this sandwich comes with a Raspberry Sauce, at other restaurants, and so I asked for some. The server stated they did not have Raspberry Sauce, Jam, Jelly, etc. - I asked for Strawberry - great she will bring it right out - only it never showed up. The side of potatoes that came with it looked and tasted like the potatoes that are in the cans (pre-sliced) also they were cold - very cold. I mentioned to husband that it could be our meals waited a bit until the entire table of meals was ready to come out. On a good note, I did receive two eggs vs. the one mentioned on menu.

Husband ordered the Jambon et Fromage Crêpe (Ham and cheese crêpe) Thinly sliced ham and melted cheddar cheese in a warm crêpe, served with seasonal fresh fruit - his breakfast was chopped ham instead of thinly sliced but there was plenty of it - every bite was loaded with ham. He mentioned it was tasty but not exceptional. We also ordered a Spinach Crepe to take out for a friend who could not attend the breakfast - after he ate his (although it was no longer hot) he also stated that it was just okay - he said it was average.

Our server at our table seemed very young and a bit timid,unsure - maybe it was her first day or week but she was friendly and nice to us. The atmosphere is also lovely. We would go back and try this restaurant again, maybe lunch or dinner next time - but again, although it was good and tasty it wasn't exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So good we went back...twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We made a reservation here the first night we were in Gettysburg this past Friday so that we knew where we were having dinner after a tour of Antietam and a long drive to Gettysburg. When we made the reservation we were advised it is BYOB - so we planned ahead.

Easy to find - adorable little restaurant with excellent friendly service. One block off Lincoln Square (circle). We found so many things on the menu that we wanted to try that we decided before we ordered that we were coming back on Saturday night as long as the food didn't disappoint - and it didn't.

Great menu of classic french items as well as other standard american fare of sandwiches. We tried the Croque Monsieur, Chicken Cordon Bleu, French Onion soup and the Pork Normandy. All very delicious.

We enjoyed it so much that we went back for breakfast before heading home - try the pain perdu and warning - the crepes are as big as your head and very good!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on Saturday afternoon September 21st for lunch.

We each ordered the chicken and artichoke soup. I had the cup my husband got the bowl. Nicely seasoned and tasty.

Then we each ordered the French dip, a great choice. The bread was fresh and delicious.

For dessert we ordered the pumpkin cheesecake and chocolate cake with peanut butter icing. We were happy with a of our choices and the prices are very reasonable.

Tip - order the Chips with your sandwich, they are very good.

Not to mention the wait staff is so helpful and very friendly..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curiouspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not a Tourist Trap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were in Gettysburg this past weekend and tried this unassuming bistro. We called ahead for reservations and were forewarned that was a BYOB establishment. So with wine in hand we entered. On a Friday evening it was busy but not packed, My guess is all the tourist trap period "taverns" were packed. The food was outstanding and the prices were very reasonable. The waitress was excellent and we had a wonderful meal (with our own wine) for an excellent value. We shall be back when we visit this hallowed ground.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Saint-Amand also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing