We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing a historic tragedy.”

Gettysburg National Military Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".
Glenview
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing a historic tragedy.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were overwhelmed by the scope and description provided by our "in the car" guide. Being in a place that I've read about was an experience that I will cherish and share.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,627
    552
    75
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Park drive”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Drive through the park, then go back at night and see the fog only in the park? This was very ghostly and if you were part of one of the in town ghost tours may make you hair stand up!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GTR1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“History at its best”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a moving experience this huge park is! There are so many monuments, so many memories, all very well documented. The battle of Little Round Top and a stop at Devil's Den at the bottom of the hill are must-see! Very informative, and easy to keep children interested.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
356 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Top historic attraction”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The new museum was an excellent experience for novices and Civil War buffs alike. The truly wonderful cyclorama made visitors feel as if they were part of the battle. Definitely a turning point in our country's history. Museum artifacts truly a plus for this visit as well as a very well stocked gift shop. Especially nice was the offer to donate to our soldiers today. We could purchase a cooler with a few dollars going to today's military or just a donation (which we did) & their foundation would stock the cooler with goodies & treats to send overseas to soldiers there. The battlefield was well-marked for auto-tour. Didn't have time for the wonderful bus tour. Loved the little town of Gettysburg that had to endure the aftermath of this great battle. A great trip for older children & all adults. Can't wait to try the ghost walk next time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A fabulous museum and park! But be warned you need lots of time. We did a tour with a guide and that was just the best way for us (Australians) to really get to understand this incredible battle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KynetonSema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing