We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see - must do”

Gettysburg National Military Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see - must do”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

On our visit from Europe we visited Gettysburg National Military Park and had a personal guide in our car. This was the best decision ever. Chris - our guide - was enthusiastic, dedicated, extremely knowledgeable, knew a lot of back ground story, dedicated a lot of time to our questions without minding the time. He was just perfect. So I would really advise to take this opportunity to learn much about history. The Visitor Center was excellent and we really enjoyed the movie and the Cyclorama. Go and see it is really worth wile!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raibrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,880
    572
    75
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected...”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

...as we don't usually visit such grusome sites but Gettysburg has changed our mindset! Starting with the Visitor Centre we found the Park very well organised and everyone so helpful. The Cyclorama was absolutely spectacular and provided a wonderful overview we took in our minds' eye as we toured the battle grounds. An in-car guide was well worth the few extra dollars as he made the tour 'come alive' in many respects. Well done Gettysburg National Military Park we just may need to return some day!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HoweIslandWinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A step back in history.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a morning at the first class Visitor Center and an afternoon touring the battlefields. We started our day viewing the New Birth of Freedom film followed by the Battle of Gettysburg Cyclorama. Both were spectacular and well worth the time and money! We then covered all areas of the museum and enjoyed every minute. The displays and exhibits were extremely well done and provided amazing insight to the Civil War especially to those of us whom are not huge history buffs. We spent the afternoon touring the battlefields with the aid of a booklet and audio tour guide that we purchased online prior to our visit. Every stop along the way was more inspiring than the previous one. We spent the next morning at the National Cemetery which was also inspiring beyond words. The National Park Service gentleman volunteer on the grounds was very helpful and informative. I would highly recommend that every American spend some quality time at this very historic military site (Museum and Visitor Center, Battleground and Cemetery.)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jillkaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Please spend the extra money (it's $24.00) to get the Nat'l Park's CD driving Tour - (not the abbreviated one). It has very easy to follow driving instruction w/numbered sites for navigating through the park. It is very thorough and has engaging historial information. It's a must-have while visting the Park!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NHawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very well maintained”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very large area that is well maintained and well marked. The work to keep/return the field to how it was in 1863 is impressive. Also glad they are being environmentally responsible while doing so. Very impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Elenvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing