We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bike tour of the battlefield is THE way to go!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg National Military Park

Gettysburg National Military Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bike tour of the battlefield is THE way to go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We rented bikes from a very nice little hut in the bus lot. The rates were worthwhile ($10/hr. Up to two hours or $30 for the day). They fit you with the correct size bike, offered helmets, water, and were a cell call away if you needed help. A greatvwayvto get to the well marked locations. They have group tour options as well, but we took off on our own.

We also paid for the movie, museum, cyclorama. ALL WORTH THE PRICE! The movie provided some background for the locations visited on the site and made them that much more impactful. The cyclorama is an experirlence if you have never been, and the museum is very up to date with interactive screens, movie clips, and plenty of written information to support artifacts.

Helpful?
1 Thank iburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,379
    534
    73
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

A massive part of the history of the USA is explained here.
You can tour the battlefield with a private guide, in a bus tour or buy a CD and do your own audio tour.
There are rangers available to talk about the various key places.
The battlefield has very many memorials all of which tell part of the story.
A minimum of 3-4 hours to scratch the surface of this piece of history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing and sobering experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing, not just for the sheer awe you will be in upon seeing the beautiful landscape, but also when you learn of the bravery of the soldiers who fought and died here. The place is so full of history, you could spend a week here and not see it all. There are beautiful monuments of bronze and marble everywhere in the park, and strategically placed markers and cannons where actual positions and soldiers fought. Make sure to hire a tour guide or an audio CD to drive around with, as it will really up your appreciation of the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toddone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“history before your eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

this is a great stop whether you are a civil war buff or not. to be able to stand where so much history of our country took place is amazing. close your eyes and imagine the thoughts of the men who were in this area almost 150 years ago

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shaff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to learn history for young and old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent a few days in Gettysburg touring the battlefield and enjoying the visitor's center. Our kids (8 and 10) really enjoyed the introductory movie, Cyclorama painting, and museum at the visitor center -- where we spent about 3 hours. They were particularly enthralled with the weapons and gruesome doctor's instruments. We hired a "Licensed Battlefield Guide" to take us around the battlefield one day and it was money VERY well spent. Jim (the guide) geared the tour towards our boys' interests, with a lot of death and destruction and gore packed into our afternoon. We went through the battlefield again on our own, including a sunset walk across the field where Pickett's Charge occurred. Scrambling over the rocks at Devil's Den and Little Round Top was a big hit with my kids (and many others). The statues/memorials all throughout the battlefield are wonderful, and there are placards describing events, however, I feel having that touring with a guide early in the trip helped all that information sink in for all of us. Gettysburg is an incredibly worthwhile place to spend a few days learning our country's history. We came home from our trip and I read "The Killer Angels" -- and now I'm ready to go back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing