We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich in History”

Gettysburg National Military Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rich in History”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I would recommend this to all Americans. There is a self guided Auto Tour that you can take at your own pace. There are over 1300 monuments on the battlefield. Park Rangers give guided tours and are very knowledgable and interesting. We took a picnic lunch and ate under the shade of a tree near the battlefield. I'm from Missouri and have always wanted to visit this crucial Civil War site, and after seeing it, I only wish I'd have gotten here sooner. It is free, the only cost involved is if you want to see the movies of the battle at the Visitor center. Don't let it fool you, the museum looks like you have to pay to go see it, but that is just because it's by the movie theatre area. If you plan to see the Cyclodrama, do it before your tour of the battlefield, so you'll be well prepared to understand the locations of the battle and how it unfolded.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayco-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,627
    552
    75
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I've seen many WW1 and WW2 battlefields in Europe, but Gettysburg has the finest combination of military museum, park and battlefield tours I've ever experienced. The town is also full of great restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank caspar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Monuments show battle positions and name all regimentsfrom both sides. Walk, car, or bike as we did

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pivotal Battle of the Civil War”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We saw the film, cyclorama and toured the museum in the Visitors Center before completing an auto tour of the battlefield. The film contains so much valuable information about the three days of battle as well as the months preceding the event. The cyclorama is amazing. We spent at least two hours in the museum which further enhanced our knowledge of the Civil War, the actual days of battle, the background information on the town of Gettysburg and personal accounts of the citizens both prior and post battle. In addition, the museum covered the Gettysburg Address by Lincoln as well as the aftermath of the Civil War. As we took the auto tour of the different battle sites, we were definitely well -prepared to understand the battle that took place here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wimbledon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Making it real”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had always wanted to see Gettysburg, and finally got the chance. It was a beautiful June day. We arrived early, and went into the Visitor's Center. We purchased tickets for the movie, "Mew Birth of Freedom", the cyclorama, museum and bus tour. We watched the film and saw the cyclorama first, then went on the bus tour. The film and cyclorama allowed us to be somewhat knowledgeable about the battle itself.
The two hour bus tour was led by a licensed guide, who really brought the battle alive. He was able to answer all our questions. He then told us he had to take a written and oral test to become licensed. Not many become licensed.
After the bus tour we spent more time in the museum, which guides you day by day through this bloody battle.
The photos, relics, and stories really made me realize what freedom is all about. So many men died, so many families were torn apart, so much land was destroyed, in the name of freedom.
Plan on spending many hours at the Park. There is an auto tour you can do on your own, which does allow you to stop and spend more time at each spot. However, the guide makes it real.
I highly recommend this Park to everyone. Young children would become very tired and bored, however. Wait until they are slightly older. We saw many school groups, primarily about 8th grade.
I would go again in a minute.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank greydeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing