We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband & I were quite taken with the hospitality extended to us by the owners. There was such an exceptional sense of detail to accomodate what seemed like even the simplest of needs. Both of them were extremely congenial and available for local information or just plain wholesome conversation. They truly love what they do and take such pleasure being hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

Geroge, Alex, and Heidi the wonder dog were wonderful hosts. They comfortably provided for all our lodging needs, but more importantly they proved to be great people (and pet). They went above and beyond their call of duty to provide us with the information we needed, and some wonderful insights as well. The inn was clean, comfortable, and nicely located near the tourist attractions yet in a quiet neighborhood. Our stay was more than we could have hoped for, and unfortunately far too short. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

George & Alexandra have created a wonderful bed & breakfast with the feel of Paris. Everything about my stay was comfortable and relaxing. The room was wonderful, the food was perfect, and the company was like being with old friends (and their dog). The location of The Raphael Inn is only a few minutes from the very busy and noisy tourist area of Gettysburg, which proved to be a very good thing as it was close enough to be convenient and far enough to be peaceful. I would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busylady3345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Upon arriving at Raphael Inn, I was immediately greeted at the door by George & Alexandra, the Innkeepers, who made me feel completely at home. My room was very clean and tastefully decorated with Gettysburg's history and allure.

The location of Raphael Inn enabled me to walk to Gettysburg's downtown area with ease.

George and Alex's graciousness created a very memorable experience during my stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowcatmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Footsteps away from Gettysburg College, (which is our destination), we return to the Raphael Inn year after year. We originally selected it for the location; a pleasant stroll into downtown for restaurants and shopping. We continue returning for the wonderful service provided by the Inn Keepers, Alexandra and George. We always find it to be a welcoming, peaceful and friendly environment. We have stayed in all three rooms. Each one is very comfortable and clean, and all with private baths.
Alexandra and George offer traditional hospitality and are very knowledgeable, even giving us valuable highway tips about a day trip we made to Washington, D.C.
The “Blue Moon” front porch and the “Paris Café” dining room are lovely spots to sit with a morning coffee or for an afternoon rest. Breakfast at the Inn is delicious and attractively served. The food is prepared fresh by the Inn Keepers and served at your table, with attention to detail.
The Inn’s web site: www.raphaelinn.com describes the accommodations accurately. A nice surprise, not mentioned, is “Mama’s Kitchen” on the landing going upstairs. Here there are complimentary beverages and snacks you can enjoy at anytime.
Although we are not pet owners, we look forward to visiting with the affectionate, mid-sized mutt, “Heidi the Wonder Dog.” Heidi is quiet and well-behaved. (Heidi will be kept out of the public areas if a guest prefers.)
Parking is a private driveway that leads from the front of the property to a quaint back alleyway which can also be used as an exit. There is a permit for on street parking. We have always been able to leave and return without effort.
We find the Raphael Inn to be a value in price. Rates are not increased during peak seasons (which we discovered is a common practice). The fact that the Inn is not on Route 30 (York Rd.), the commercial road in and out of the center of Gettysburg is a plus, as traffic can be quite heavy and slow there.
This has become a home away from home for us. I hesitate to admit how much we enjoy this ‘hidden gem’ for fear of it already being filled on future visits. Being a destination for tourists and families of college students alike, Gettysburg accommodations can go rapidly. It is best to make reservations as soon as possible when you plan to visit. Also, be aware that at least one of the hotels in the center of town has a fee for parking. It is best to inquire about the location of parking and possible charges.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Raphael Inn is a charming 3 bedroom B&B within one block of Gettysburg College. While the decor might not be for everybody, it is charming in its own right and reflects the taste of the owners, Alex and George Escalera. The Escaleras and Heidi the Wonder Dog made us feel right at home as soon as we walked in. We stayed in the Evangeline Room, which, while not exceptionally large, was adequate. Every room has its own bath, which is wonderful in a B&B this size. The breakfast was excellent and the portions were the perfect size. There is only driveway parking (meaning your car is in danger of being parked in), but since we were within walking distance of the college and most of the town as well, we rarely had to take our car out of the driveway. Our fellow guests were wonderful. We were pleased that our room cost less than all of the other B&Bs in Gettysburg and most of the motels, but we stayed at the Raphael Inn for the convenient location right next to the College.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sh00bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guillaume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.8 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
395 reviews
4.6 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.8 mi away
Inn at Herr Ridge
Inn at Herr Ridge
#7 of 23 in Gettysburg
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318 (Formerly Raphael Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $157 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing