We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I were on a special 25th wedding anniversary trip and hadn't been on a vacation in many years. Our room (the Lincoln room), was immaculate and beautifully decorated with a lovely view of the gardens. The entire place was beautifully decorated and spotless. George and Alexandra went far above and beyond on a daily basis to make our stay very special and memorable. The breakfasts and evening desserts were amazing! They truly have the gift of hospitality. The atmosphere is so warm, friendly and inviting. And I can't forget Heidi the wonder dog and little Olive, the small wonder. They were delightful. We just got home yesterday and my husband and I are already talking about our next visit. We absolutely love this place!!!!
Michele and Dan Phelps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
196
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My 13 year-old (history-interested) son and I made a trip to Gettysburg. We were looking for a place to stay that was near downtown, but also historically interesting. We were NOT disappointed! Alexandra and George have done a wonderful job with their B&B. They view their B&B as a continuous work in progress, one that can continually be improved. They were incredibly accommodating and could not do enough for us to make our trip sensational. We stayed in the "Lincoln" room and my son was very excited to contemplate "what-if Abraham Lincoln really slept here?". I would easily stay with them again, and again, and again...

Room Tip: I did view all the rooms and they each have their individual theme/appeal. I don't think you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzan_JungleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We really chose this hotel for it's recommendation and price. They were running a mid-week special when we booked. We stayed for 4 nights. When we arrived Alexandra was there to greet us and gave us so much valuable information on tours and eateries and we took advantage of it all. She also saved us money on the rental of the car guide tape which we put to good use the following day. Her restaurant recommendations were places where the locals ate, so the food was reasonable and good.

When Alexandra was finished with all her information, George her husband helped carry our .luggage up stairs. Something I have not had in other B&B's

Her two dogs are delightful especially Olive who was the livelier one and Heidi who is older and very sweet and quiet. Loving animals I had a great time with them.

We had the California Room which was roomy and had a King size bed. The bed was extremely comfortable. Even though it faced the main road it was very quiet. I have always lived on a cul-de-sac so any noise definitely would have kept me awake.

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with a lovely presentation. It was served around 9 AM.

This Inn is very centrally located and what makes it special are the owners George & Alexandra.
They cannot do enough for you and make you feel extremely welcomed. For example I came back one day exhausted from touring and dying for a cup of coffee. It was no trouble for her to make a pot and with it came an Anniversary cake with sparklers. She also had one for her other guest who was celebrating his birthday. The cake came with a beautifully made card. She also offered dessert everyday. When we didn't come home till evening one day she came to our room to offer dessert. The hosts are very special and you cannot go wrong coming here

.

Room Tip: Either the California room or the Abe Lincoln Room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Raphael Inn is comfortable clean and quiet. The owners, George and Alexandra are most gracious hosts. They offered information on restaurants and activities. We were interested in a horse riding tour of the Gettysburg Battlefield. Alexandra made a phone call and put us in touch with a horse tour that was excellent. Always quick with assistance or a story, our innkeepers provided us with a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first visit and we really enjoyed staying here three nights with our friends. We were three couples so we took over the whole Inn. It is close to the square which includes, museums, shops, restaurants, and bars. The Inn was very clean and our hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts on the porch were great, and the dogs were wonderful. We were given good advice on places to eat and see. Alex and George are wonderful hosts and they make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hosts George and Alexandra are just superb! They made us feel at home during our stay and gave us plenty of pointers of things to do in the area. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean. We stayed in the Lincoln room which was very cozy. We enjoyed the adjoining sitting room. The food was simply delicious and plentiful. We would gladly stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone. This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Kelly1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

George and Alex are obviously passionate about doing their best for others and this is reflected in how they run The Raphael Inn. They give freely of their time and energy and before long, it's easy to feel as if you are staying with friends who you have known for years. We stayed for 2 nights in the Evangeline room (a gorgeous room that reminded me of a 1920's girl's fantasy room) and had planned on exploring Gettysburg. However, we enjoyed staying at the B&B so much that we spent most of our time there happily playing Scrabble (Alex and George have a number of board games for guests), chatting with our hosts and other guests, reading magazines and just generally relaxing. The whole experience felt like a retreat and a much needed recharge of our batteries. We would not hesitate to return, not to visit Gettysburg, but to stay at The Raphael Inn again. It's obvious that George and Alex are very kind people and the business of running a B&B is a vehicle for spreading happiness and joy to everyone they meet. The food that Alex and George prepared was fantastic - you could tell that each dish was prepared with love and care. We will never forget our stay and really look forward to the time when we can return (and hopefully stay in the fabulous Lincoln Room next time!).

Room Tip: Each of their 3 rooms is unique and special!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowsby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Property: Raphael Inn
Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing