We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - Delightful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay at the Raphael Inn was great. Most of the rooms were decorated in the period the home was built - over 100 years ago. The owners are sweet, offering suggestions for dining, shopping, and tours of Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The California Rose room had a lot of road noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family enjoyed great hospitality and food at the Raphael. Alexandra and George went far beyond our expectations in preparing my low-sugar birthday cake, which was ready for us on our arrival. They shared their home and their life experiences with us and were interested in getting to know us. The breakfasts were more than ample. Their knowledge of the local attractions was unlimited. The room was ample for the three of us. I particularly enjoyed Alexandra's collection of glassware and china, which she used as she set up the breakfast table. We had a warm and welcoming experience at the Raphael, and we would certainly recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank BJD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Raphael Inn. George and Alex are wonderful people. This was our first stay at a B&B and thanks to them it won't be our last. The food was great and the location was very convenient. George and Alex gave us some very helpful suggestions about where to eat and the places they recommended were yummy. They definitely made our stay in
Gettysburg very enjoyable! They recommended using Howard as a tour guide of the battlefield and we are so glad we did!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExcitedAboutAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights and were taken care of Alex and George in the best way possible. Alex is an expert in introducing Gettysburg in many ways (restaurants, trips, things to (not) do). We stayed in the California Rose Room which is the biggest one. It is filled with lots of personal and cute stuff - find out yourself what you like!
Breakfast is serious stuff :) as Alex thoroughly 'interrogates' her guests what they like. We enjoyed the omelette, toast, yoghurt, fruit, Nutella(!) and much more, sitting on the porch.
Arriving late after an exhausting day? No bother, you will be welcomed with a friendly voice that is convincing enough to also indulge a warm brownie with whipped cream.
We can go on but you'd better find out yourself that a stay with Alex and George (and not to forget Heidi and Olive) is the best way to stay Gettysburg and surroundings! We really enjoyed being there, it beat the heck out of a 4 (or more!)* hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirjamBernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A truly wonderful place to stay!
George & Alex make you feel right at home.They are so kind and sweet, really great people. They go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. By the time you leave you feel like family.
The room we stayed in (California-Rose) is so peaceful and comfortable. It has a calming affect.
They serve a wonderful breakfast that's pleasing to the eye and stomach. Everything they serve is so good.
Heidi the wonder dog and Olive the small wonder are a joy to meet. So well behaved and lovable.

So if you are looking for a piece of home while traveling to Gettysburg you will want to stay there.
My husband and I have stayed there twice. We loved it and will be going back again !!!

Room Tip: The California Rose Room has great decor, comfortable bed, peaceful feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two nights at the Raphael Inn on our trip to Gettysburg and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had booked the Evangeline room but changed to the California room because it had a nice sitting area. Coffee, tea, and a nice dessert were offered every afternoon. The breakfasts were both good--filling but not overly heavy. George and Alexandra were very accommodating for special food requests for us and for other guests. Their recommendations for a guide for the park and for restaurants were very helpful. This is not a fancy B & B but very friendly and an excellent value.

Room Tip: The California room and Lincoln room are larger with nice sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mssussn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Raphael Inn while visiting Gettysburg for our grand daughter's baptism. Alexandra and George gave us a genuinely warm welcome with tea and hot chocolate brownies with nuts and cream! They are extremely friendly hosts and anxious to please their guests. In our case they were ready and willing to provide their tasty and attractive breakfasts earlier than normal to fit our needs. The dining room, lounge area and bed rooms are all interestingly decorated and furnished in an eclectic mix of traditional, unconventional and international style. Tea and coffee is at hand throughout the day. Off street parking is available along the side of the house.

Room Tip: The Evangeline and Lincoln rooms are at the back of the house and furthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,133 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Brafferton Inn
Brafferton Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318 (Formerly Raphael Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $158 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing