We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for Bike Week, and had a wonderful, wonderful time. It's a little out of the way from the Circle, so nice and quiet, but only about a 15-20 minute walk away, so we were never too far from the festivities.

Breakfast was DELICIOUS. Every day it was something different, balanced, and the perfect start to the morning.

Our room was really nice--our favorite part were the old time-y radio tapes (The Green Hornet, Sherlock Holmes, and a box set of 40 hours of The Shadow) provided by the owners, George and Alex. Bed was comfortable, and everything was so clean.

George and Alex couldn't be better hosts. Nice, engaging, and incredibly considerate--both of our dietary requests, and engaging our interests as people. They know a ton about area restaurants, and George in particular has a great mind for pop culture.

All in all, it was a beautiful stay, a wonderful B&B, and we'd love to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Their website has specific information on each room, as well as contact info.
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank frankstormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 317 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had almost given up trying to find a place to stay in Gettysburg on the July 4th weekend that was reasonable but then I had the good fortune of finding The Raphael Inn ! My wife and I had a great time due to the dilligence of our hosts, George and Alexandra . They simply the nicest people I've ever met or will ever meet again, I believe ! They did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and my wife and I appreciated their efforts immensely. I highly recommend this Inn - you won't be disappointed !!

Room Tip: Book rooms early as they don't last long here !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stockholm_NJRobertJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our family of 3 was taking a two week vacation with one of our stops in Gettysburg. After checking a few hotels my wife and I decided to check into Bed and Breakfast. A simple google search showed quite a few. There was really nothing that directed us to try The Raphael Inn, but we are so glad we did. They were our first call, and after speaking with Alex I had a really good feeling and we called no others. George and Alexandra are the nicest people and Heidi is a very gracious host also ! Saying we had a great experience is an understatement, clean...very nicely decorated and smelled so fresh. The bed was great and bathroom was private and very clean. The breakfast served both days was delightful and George will make sure your coffee cup never goes dry. We would highly suggest any travelers to stay here, and feel safe and right at home !!!!! Thanks George and Alexandra, we will stay again on our next trip to the east.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csm24jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful romantic getaway at this bed and breakfast. The owners, George and Alex, were so very kind and helpful. Heidi the Wonder Dog was precious. The complimentary breakfasts were exquisite! The location was so
convenient as well. The water pressure in the shower beat any hotel we have ever stayed in. We will never stay anywhere else in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmcnevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Location was great! Walking distance from the town square, and very quiet compared to downtown! George and Alex helped us find contacts for the collectibles we were hoping to find, and did! Breakfast was a visual and tasty feast! The Lincoln Room was beautifully decorated, with its own enclosed porch. George and Alex were such helpful and charming hosts. We felt welcomed from the first hello.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

George and Alex are delightful hosts! They were amazing in everyway. They are friendly and very informative about where to eat, and different locations to visit while you are in Gettysburg. They left little goodies for us when we least expected us, made sure we had everything we needed and catered to our individual likes and desires. We stayed three nights, and each morning, breakfast was a feast and so beautifully displayed. We couldn't have felt more doted on and spoiled! Another perk is the inn is within walking distance to downtown, but not right on the main street which can be loud and busy. The location was perfect!! This was our honeymoon and we stayed in the California Suite. Very beautiful, peaceful room, incredibly comfortable king size pillow-top mattress!. It allowed us to relax, rest and feel at home! Raphael Inn has a very warm, peaceful feel to it the minute you step in the door. It's impossible not to relax and recoup while you stay with George and Alex!! Thank you again George and Alex for going out of your way for us! We'll never forget you, and hope to stay with you next time we're in Gettysburg! Hi to Heidi the Wonderdog from us too!

Room Tip: Any of their rooms would be relaxing to stay in!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallypassaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Innkeepers Alex, George and Heidi, the Wonder Dog made our trip one of the most, if not the most, memorable vacations I've ever experienced. I have drug my husband to many a bed and breakfast over the years including one that was rated one of the top 10 in the US by the Wall Street Journal [back in the '80s], but none has provided the feeling of being cared for and about as the innkeepers at the Raphael Inn did. Visiting Gettyburg left an indelible impression, but it was as much from the selfless, kindly nature of the innkeepers (including Heidi) as from the the horrors of the battle that waged on July 1st, 2nd an 3rd in 1863.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavvySallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318 (Formerly Raphael Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $153 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing