We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Keystone Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We love the Gettysburg area and we love to stay at a B&B whenever possible.

The Keystone Inn is in a quiet area of town, and yet it is close to the battlefield and downtown. The room was beautifully furnished and extremely clean. It was in the back of the house, with it's own private entrance, overlooking the yard and garden.

The wrap around porch was an excellent place to sit and enjoy all the flowers. The breakfasts were very delicious, bacon done perfectly.
Mike and Marj are the new innkeepers and they were always avaliable to answer questions and give information. If the beginning of their time as innkeepers is any indication of things to come, we feel that they will have a very happy life taking care of The Keystone Inn. Don't pass up The Keystone Inn, it is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rrhdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

The Inn is in a beautiful turn-of-the century home in a quiet area.
The room was very comfortable with a ceiling fan and window-mounted air conditioning unit that was not too noisy.
We arrived on Saturday night and the cook was off on Sunday. We would have gladly accepted simple toast and coffee but we were offered a choice between uncooked oatmeal and some kind of tasteless soggy hash. The breakfast was by far the worst we've ever had.
Unfortunately the setting is really pretty and the Innkeeper very nice - too bad he can't cook to save his life!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marysela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darcy43, owner, Doris, Wilmers wife at Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2008

Dear Montreal, I'm so sorry you did not like Wilmers breakfast. In 20 years of innkeeping, this is our first complaint. I wish you would have told us, we would have gladly given you toast. And I will ask him to cook the oatmeal a bit longer Please give us another chance. Doris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Another year and another trip to Gettysburg. Once again I stayed at the Keystone Inn. It's a beautiful house built in 1913. It's in a redential part of town just 5-6 blocks from the center of town thus allowing for easy access to all the attractions but being very quiet and peaceful. You can actually be on the battlefield after a five minute walk to "Culp's Hill." Wilmer and Doris Martin are the innkeepers who create a warmth of home through their decor, breakfasts and friendliness. While B&B's are more expensive than most motels, it's well worth the extra for what you get. I've stayed there for several years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Dr. Chris Miller
Littleton, Colorado

Thank maynerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I searched TripAdvisor for a nice B&B for our family of five to stay while visiting Gettysburg. The Keystone Inn sounded reasonable and kid-friendly. Since we had never taken our kids(ages 6, 8, and 10) to a B&B before I was a little nervous. But once we arrived at the Keystone Inn I realizedall my concerns were for nothing. We stayed in a suite on the third floor and we all loved it. The hosts had even brought in a roll-away with fresh linens without us requesting it. The suite was spacious, and very clean! Our king-size bed was really comfortable and everyone loved our made-to-order breakfasts. The host, Wilmer, gave us great tips for our stay. LOVED THIS PLACE AND WILL DEFINITELY RETURN!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

This was our first time at a B&B, and the standard has been set high! Everywhere we went, there were lovely welcoming touches for the senses - subdued lighting in the library at 6:30 in the AM, wonderful smells from the kitchen (coffee at 6:30!), beautiful landscaping, tasty and ample breakfasts, the softest towels I've ever used, beautifully appointed rooms, gracious hosts. We may never stay in a hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reluctanttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

if you want all the ambience and atmosphere of a wonderfull b&b
you should look no further than the keystone inn.rooms are superb and are furnished in a period style.the breakfasts are fantastic and your hosts doris and particularly wilmer are a mine of information on the local area and further afield.
we waited 18 years to make our
dream holiday to gettysburg happen and travelled a long way from
ireland to get there,and staying at keystone inn enhanced our enjoyment.we have already started planning our return and,god willing,will stay with wilmer and doris again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank applebutter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Keystone is a super B&B. Relaxed area of Gettysburg, easy travel to other locations.
Doris and Wilmar Martin operate a very nice, super clean and comfy B&B. Breakfast is a joy each day. Always a choice, try the apple pancakes at least once.
We had the Uncle Eby room and we slept great after traveling from Texas to Gettysburg.
They have great info so ask. They know they good food locations. Try the pizza down the street. Super!
1 hour to Amish Country, Harper's Ferry and 5 minutes to the Gettysburg Battlefield. All worth the visit.
TV's in rooms, Ac of needed, not tub but large shower in this room. Super clean. Parking in the back of B&B.
We will travel back and stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,093 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 231 Hanover St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1913
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $152 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing