We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lightner Farmhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Motel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
290
34
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
290
34
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalnut cottageb bcivil warfield hospitalbirch roomgathering roomrocking chairscookiesunion soldiersresident catbed and breakfastghost huntingtrundle bedgracious hostshistoric propertyhome away from homebelgian waffles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 331 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was an awesome stay. Eileen was very accommodating and Jason's meals were to die for. Location and history added to our experience, as did the paranormal adventure.

PS...Tommy's Pizza had great food. Thanks for the tip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WI_Bikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse 4 or 5 times.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Gettysburg. Love visiting with Eileen, Dennis and Jason. Breakfast is wonderful, featuring fresh fruit and a main course. Dennis says he does not want anyone to ever say they didn't get enough to eat! So true! The rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable, with books and travel information readily accessible.
We cannot imagine anyone giving less than 5 stars to The Lightner Farmhouse!
See you folks next time !

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Harpdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband, young son and I stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse in July 2014. This was our second visit here and once again it was wonderful. We stayed only one night in the Maple room which was on the second floor in the front of the house. It was a larger room which was nice since we were provided an air mattress for my son to sleep on and it accommodated it well. My son kept saying repeatedly how he loved this house and wanted to come here every time we go to Gettysburg. We also did the Paranormal Tour with Betty at night and it was a lot of fun. We went to Sach's bridge and my son really enjoyed using the K2 meters. In the morning, we had a lovely breakfast of eggs benedict and herbed potatoes in the breezeway. Everything was wonderful. Thank you and we will return again on another trip to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The Maple room is larger and on the second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank midnight1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Normally children are allowed only in the Pine Tree Suite and the Walnut Cottage but this was an exception and it worked out well. Nice family, nice young man!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with a friend and her 12yr old daughter and it couldn't have been more perfect. Eileen really made our stay a 'family' experience. She was so accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly that it made us feel like we had known her our entire life. Being my wife's birthday we brought a home-made key-lime pie and asked Eileen if we could have a little celebration and she generously opened the kitchen and dining area for us. We welcomed her to joined our little party and we all had such a great time. :-)

Eileen has been in the business a long time and really knows what she is doing, so rest assured you are in good hands. Not forgetting Dennis too, his was so funny and a made us feel right at home.

I have been to Gettysburg a lot but it was great to have an historian come meet the guests at 8AM breakfast at a fireside chat to provide her historical knowledge. Way to go Eileen. Nice touch!

This location is perfect and 'quiet'. Main Street is very busy and loud. So having the luxury to come home to a quiet nights sleep makes all the difference. We have stayed in many B&Bs and rented houses in Gettysburg and this is on the top of our list of ALL B&B's we have ever stayed at.

I would highly recommend this location to any traveller coming to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: All of her rooms are unique and quite cozy. Our party stayed in Maple and Oak and loved every minute of it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We meet guests from all over the world and enjoy everyone but this couple will stay in my heart and mind for a long time. We had fun but had some rather deep conversations as well and I feel as though we got to know each other quickly. Hope they come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a fun time! We enjoyed the Pine Tree Suite, had a great time enjoying Betty's paranormal presentation, and we slept great! The breakfast was terrific, and walking around the grounds was super fun too. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable experience, if you want bed and breakfast in Gettysburg, this IS the place to go. Look no further, this is it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews