We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lightner Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$149
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
291
34
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
291
34
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalnut cottagecivil warfield hospitalbirch roomgathering roomrocking chairscookiesunion soldiersresident catbed and breakfastghost huntingtrundle bedgracious hostshistoric propertyhome away from homebelgian wafflesgreat history
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 332 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the facilities and our hosts (Eileen and Dennis). The breakfasts were delightfully prepared by Eileen and Don (her son). We all enjoyed Betsy, who helps there and also does paranormal tours (for guests only...)... Whether you are a believer or not, it is definitely a worthwhile evening. Great location. We will certainly stay here when we return to Gettysburg. Al & Arlene (NJ)

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Maple room... Having the ceiling fan as a supplement to the a/c was a good idea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful B&B that's away from the Gettysburg crowds but only a few minutes drive to the battlefields and shops, the Lightner Farmhouse B&B is your best choice. The house is as comfortable as your own home and the owners Eileen and Dennis truly make their guests feel welcome. Breakfasts are filled with wonderful food and friendly conversation, and the dining room is always open for self-serve coffee, tea, and wonderful home-baked cookies. We will be recommending the Lightner Farmhouse to our friends and family, and are confident that you will be doing the same after your first visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a wonderful B & B. We were greeted at the door by the owner and were given a short history of the farmhouse. Eileen made us feel right at home as soon as we stepped over the threshold. The aroma of fresh baked muffins and cookies filled the room. Charming atmosphere, clean (absolutely spotless) room and a delicious breakfast are only a few of the reasons for coming to this stop over. You get a country location with downtown Gettysburg only a few minutes away. We wanted to do a ghost tour but not with one of the groups in town. Betty took a small group of us, who were all staying at Lightner, to Sach's Bridge, known for paranormal orbs and mists. She allowed us to use K-11 meters and EMF meters which was really exciting. She was taking photos the whole time we were there and then prepared a CD to give us of the evening (and yes, we did see some orbs and mists). We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for the great review for our B&B and for the nice words about the Paranormal Tour which has been very popular and is a lot of fun for our guests. We hope you come back and bring your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We'd never stayed at a B&B before, but decided to take a chance on the Lightner Farmhouse. It was spotless, the food was excellent and the hosts were just great. It is far enough out of the city to allow one to relax amid quiet surroundings, while only a few minutes drive will have you in downtown Gettysburg. It's a beautiful farmhouse, full of history. We will certainly reserve a room there the next time we're in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Try the Cedar room. It has its own porch.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a great ladies weekend in a comfortable, friendly, and beautiful setting. How can you beat arriving to freshly baked cookies. The breakfast was unique and yet hearty and delicious. We loved the history. While we came to look for the paranormal....the normal was just fantastic too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pine Tree Suite. Perfect for the four of us.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We had a fun time with these four great ladies and appreciate the kind comments from them. Although the Paranormal is intriguing and fun, it is the ambience, hospitality and food that we can guarantee to be good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews