We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quaint stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lightner Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Lightner Farmhouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had my first visit with The Lightner bed & breakfast. The owners Eileen & Dennisare wonderful hosts & made my visit an absolute delight. I stayed in the Walnut Cottage that was right off of the sunroom & provided a quiet evening. I highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    29
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
60
146
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pikesville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The owners, Eileen and Dennis really make you feel at home. This is a quiet little B&B just 10 minutes from the center of the town in Gettysburg. What a great retreat. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable "home away from home", this is the place to stay. 26 acres of beautiful land with a lot of history. Ask Eileen about the history of the farmhouse. My sister and I stayed in the Walnut Cottage. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIITMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and it was a wonderful place. It is a great location and the innkeepers are so kind, so helpful, and so inviting. They have much to share about both historical and current Gettysburg. It's not far from the city and the property is beautiful.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice play to stay in Gettysburg.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bcoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholsey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What can one say, all the good things and positives are correct. If you are coming to Gettysburg as part of a Civil War tour stay here, if you are just passing through, still stay here. How many people can say they went to Gettysburg and stayed in a (former) Union Army hospital. Super knowledgable hosts, and not just on the battle and Gettysburg, when I suggested we would follow the CSA army route of withdrawal after the battle as it was in our general direction we were given a detailed route which just added to the whole visit.
Do a battlefield tour, they guy we had could have been at the battle he was so good. The visitor centre is great, the film is very good and take in a Park Ranger talk, very knowledgable people.
Eileen and Dennis, thanks very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearscarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It is always fun for us to help guests find unique and memorable places to visit in our area or as they head out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose this B&B for two reasons. It's close to the Gettysburg Battlefield and visitors center and the house depicted on the website looks just like one of ours. We could have spent a week here, just reading all of the historical material related to the area and specifically to the house. Built in 1862, it served as a makeshift hospital during the Battle of Gettysburg in 1863. Eileen and Dennis are very accommodating and gracious hosts. They truly love what they do and they do it very well. Great place, great food and warm hospitality, served up with a boat load of incredible history. We'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: They all looked good, but we liked our room on the first floor with a fireplace and our own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family stayed at this B and B in June 2012. It was a stop-over on our way to Va Beach. The owners upgraded our room for no additional charge. The suite was spacious and comfortable for our family of 4. They allowed my 11 year old son to metal detect for civil war era artifacts on their spacious property. When he found a couple metal pieces they let him keep them and were helpful in identifying them as possible civil war pieces. The breakfast was outstanding. We had a great experience here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamasmurf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in! Eileen and Dennis are great hosts. We asked them places to go and things to experience in Gettysburg and the area and their knowledge and recommendations were spot on. Miss Betty's "Ghost Tour" was awesome and "yes" there are visitors at the B&B if you are looking for ghostly adventures. We stayed in the Cedar Room which has its own entrance which was wonderful. We spent each morning enjoying our morning brews on the porch after a very enjoyable breakfast. We stayed for 5 nights and each day returned to a fresh room. We also enjoyed having a homemade chocolate chip cookie each afternoon - yummo! The location is great - you are far enough out of town to miss the traffic noise; but close enough to be in to town in a jiffy! Super close to the Visitors Center, as well. If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Gettysburg - the Lightner is it!

Room Tip: The Cedar Room has its own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muncher53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#7 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing