We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inflexible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inflexible”
Reviewed September 20, 2006

The Gaslight In is an attractive house with a pretty yard and gardens. It was clean and well-run in many ways, but we wouldn't recommend it. Co-owner Becky seemed so much more interested in making money than in hospitality that it ruined the experience. Her unfriendliness and inflexibility were surprising in such a nice place. Everything seemed geared toward pinching pennies, making it easy on the owners and protecting the property from untrustworthy guests. For example, they have hairdryers, but they're not in the room (who wants to get dressed and go down 2 flights of stairs with wet hair to see if they have one?) 2 of the 3 of us got sick after eating what we could of the breakfast. No choices for breakfast, although several at our seating (be there at 8:30 SHARP or else....) clearly didn't care for poached eggs. Parking is inadequate. Cookies were stale. Co-owner Mike was very friendly, but that couldn't compensate for the overall disappointing experience. Not what we expected for a property in this $ category.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Explorer224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    32
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
51
274
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Stayed two nites here and recommend it highly. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The inn had great sitting areas and breakfast was delicious. The steam shower was a treat. Once the street traffic quieted down. A little busy thru 7pm. Unbelievable quiet set in. Close to shops and restaurants and battlefields. Walk to just about everything. The staff was so helpful. Making reservations and setting up tours. Just Delightful. The only negative which was not for us, is the dogs, if you do not like dogs then stay somewhere else. They were tiny dogs and loved being friendly. We will be back to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timelygraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay at the Gaslight Inn. We were happy to discover we could walk to many different parts of the town due to the inn being in such a great location. In addition, the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, we felt we made a good choice when we booked ouor room there.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryde2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2006

We just returned from a three night stay at the Gaslight Inn in Gettysburg. We stayed in the Aster room. I felt a need to respond to the negative reviews about the Inn on this site. The Inn keepers Mike and Becky Hanson were wonderful and the breakfasts were very good. As far as the Aster room we were more than pleased. The bed must have been changed from the earlier post as it was a true king sized bed and extremely comfortable. As far as the steam bath all one has to do is touch the button in the shower to make it operate. The Inn is conveniently located 1 1/2 blocks from the center of town and we felt safe walking around the area even at night. I would recommend the Gaslight Inn without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2006

The Gas Light Inn was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. We were greated on entrance and taken for a tour of the beautiful house. Our room, as were the rest of the rooms were beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Clover Room, which was a nice size for a bedroom, with a very large jacuzzi tub. Great location too. The only downfall was only slight, their little Yorkie, who was friendly once you were inside, didn't like strangers. I would highly recommend staying here. The woman in charge of the BnB was very helpful in anything you needed. If you are going to Gettysburg just to tour and not for a nice getaway, I would suggest going later in the year. Alot of things were closed in Feb., but the parks looked beautiful after the snow. This is again a wonderful place to stay especially for a romantic getaway...I am definatly staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2005

We spent 5 wonderful days at The Gaslight Inn. The innkeepers were very helpful in planning our days in Gettsburg. They made several reservations for meals and tours.
Our room was spotless. The inn is in a great location, we walked everywhere we wanted to go. Would like to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

We recently returned from a two night stay at the Gaslight Inn. Having read some of the prior reviews I was concerned as we left for the airport. However, I will say that none of the issues within the reviews we had read here was even a remote concern for us during our stay.

We arrived after the staff had left for the evening and found our key, which had been carefully left for us, as well as snacks and drinks. We stayed in the Ivy room on the second floor and it was certainly roomy enough for us. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the mornings. Surely not lumpy or otherwise. We found our room clean and made up when we returned from our outings in the afternoon.

The breakfasts were amazing - great to have homecooked food while on vacation. Mike was a perfect host and after the first morning even remembered to bring the second serving of orange juice I always have with my breakfast. He also recommended places for us to visit while we were in town and overall did everything to make us feel at home.

As for the dogs - we loved having them at the B&B! And as for any barking, it was never a problem. Oliver is a 5 pound terrier - his occasional bark at perhaps a random visitor is not anything to complain about. We would have taken him home!

I can't speak for the Daisy room specifically, but yes it is truly off the breakfast room, and I would not want to stay in that room. But that is probably the only thing to note as a negative.

We would stay here again. It IS a very romantic, well-kept getaway in a GREAT part of down. Right in the middle of everything. Definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cerbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 E Middle St, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An In-Town Oasis, the Gaslight Inn is a nine room Inn one block from Lincoln Square, the center of town, and one block from Confederate Ave., the Culps Hill area of the Battlefield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Inn b&b
The Gaslight Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing