We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gettysburg Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed two nights, and appreciated the fact that we could walk to the town square. Becky and Elizabeth were friendly and helpful. The room comfortable. But the main thing we like about inns, is at breakfast time, you get to meet very interesting people, from many parts of the country. And you can share traveling experiences. Obviously, this is very important in Gettysburg, with so many different attractions. I especially enjoyed the visit on Tuesday from Mr. Chambers, in his Federal Army uniform, who gave us many insights into the life of the soldier in 1863. Their shoes, for instance, were neither left or right, but fit any foot.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Is there a third? Get the second if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim40W72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 414 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Oct. 17-20, 2013, we had a great three-night stay at the Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast in Gettysburg, PA to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is beautiful and close to downtown. We were able to walk to Lincoln Square where there are lots of shops and restaurants. The homemade breakfasts at the Inn were fantastic, and everyone was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the June Rose room on the third floor which had a comfortable king size bed. It was spacious with a fantastic steam shower. It was a little noisy, as we could hear quite a bit of street traffic. Would highly recommend this B & B!! We can't wait to go back and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulcey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and i stayed two nights in October 2013. The Inn was even lovlier than the web photos, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet yet within walking distance of everything. Becky and Elizabeth were warm and engaging. We had to leave before breakfast and were pleasantly surprised to receive a take away breakfast package. The reenactor they breought in provided an entertaining and informative look into the life of a Civil War soldier. Overall, this was an excellent B&B which we would recommend and hope to return to! They have struck the perfect balance of providing for their guests while providing what feels like your own home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our first trip to Gettysburg and we arrive to the Gaslight Inn in the middle of a National Park Shutdown! In spite of everything, our stay was wonderful - thanks to the people at the Gaslight Inn. They had historic guides come into the Inn to give talks & answer questions. They arranged for a private guide, who was still able to drive us around the battlefields and give us an amazing tour. Our mornings started with some of the best breakfasts we've been treated to. Afternoon coffee and homemade chocolate chip cookies were too much of a temptation to resist. We had the "Garden Room" which allowed us to exit onto the garden patio to enjoy the flowers and read in the sunshine. The convenient location allowed us to walk to shops, museums and restaurants. It really is a lovely place to enjoy Gettysburg.

Room Tip: We loved our "Garden Room" for the private exit to the patio and the large bathroom (it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynthiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Gaslight Inn and really enjoyed our first B&B experience in America. The room was very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the spa bath.

The talk on Gettysburg by the local historian was very interesting and helped with our understanding on the battlefield tour which we took later in the day.

The only criticism I would make as a foreigner, we are Australian, is that the sweet breakfasts were not entirely to our taste. But nonetheless were quite OK.

Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After looking at several B & B's in Gettysburg, I still couldn't decide where to book our stay. I poured over reviews and pictures. I don't know what specifically led me to The Gaslight Inn, but I am VERY glad it was the one I chose. The staff was friendly and welcoming and gave suggestions for restaurants and tours. The room was awesome! I still can't believe how comfortable the bed was(the June Rose Room)! The bath was large with a very nice shower with a steam feature(which we did not use but I am sure is nice if you like that ). Our room was on the third floor, which if you have difficulty with stairs would not be great, but the staff offered to help with luggage if needed. There is a room located on the first floor for those who do not do stairs. The Gaslight Inn is on a side street VERY close to the town center, but this made all the difference in the noise level. It was much quieter. The breakfast both mornings was incredible. They even accommodated people who had dietary restrictions, such as gluten free diets. One morning they also had a civil war re enactor come give an hour long talk and demonstration for the guests. I most certainly would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Some have access to a balcony or patio. Some have fireplaces during the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psoh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 09/27/13 through 09/29/13 after finding it online and seeing many great reviews on here. The Gaslight Inn did not disappoint, we loved it and cannot say enough great things about it!! Mike, Becky, and Elizabeth could not have been more accommodating and the breakfast was awesome. The inn is beautiful, clean, the rooms are spacious, and it's in a perfect location. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepgirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 33 E Middle St, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $120 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An In-Town Oasis, the Gaslight Inn is a nine room Inn one block from Lincoln Square, the center of town, and one block from Confederate Ave., the Culps Hill area of the Battlefield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Hotel Gettysburg
The Gaslight Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing