We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, large room”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, large room”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed for one night over MLK weekend and found our room (son of something suite on the 4th floor) to be very clean and spacious. The one TV is out in the living room area and was quite small, but it was fine for us. (They did offer us another room with a flat screen!) The breakfast basket wasn't much and was delivered when we checked in, so by the am the muffins were dry, but the grapes and OJ were good, as were the large cookies! Very friendly staff and free parking behind the hotel, walking distance to all the downtown Gettysburg places, although it is a very quiet town in Jan! Bed was comfy and while there was some noise from the main road out front it wasn't loud enough to bother us, if you are from the country may want to stick to the back of the hotel. Not historically decorated, but doesn't claim to be and was comfortable and cozy with all the florals and country patterns. They give you a key to the front so you can come and go as you please. Nice place, would go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. Have a wonderful winter and we hope to see you again on your return visit to Gettysburg.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
220
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Union suite, it was homey, clean, and the mini kitchen was very convenient. The staff was nice, and we loved all the treats they left for us throughout our stay. This was our first trip to Gettysburg, we plan on returning and would definitely stay at the James Gettys again!
My only warning, it is an old building, you can hear everything your neighbors do and say ;) so remember they can hear you as well!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over the Labor Day weekend. We could not have been happier. The James Getty hotel is a remarkably beautiful historic hotel. We stayed in the Sign of the Spread Eagle suite, which is their smallest suite but it still has beautiful comfortable furnishings with more than enough room. We enjoyed having a separate living room, bathroom, and bedroom. Especially appreciated were the wonderful homebaked goodies left in a basket for us each night. Varities of coffee cake, blueberry muffins, grapes, canteloupe, chocolate chip cookies, chocolates and orange juice were very tasty. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Bedding was beautiful and comfortable. We loved the quiet feel to this hotel and know that you will too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank territrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during bike week and was able to get the Majestic Suite. Even with all the loud motorcycles, we had a fairly quite room. The hotel itself was right in the center of town and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see.
The room itself was beautiful. Very nicely furnished with just the right mix of modern and old style.
The in room continental breakfast was great. We had fresh fruit, peach cobler and even some delicious chocolate chip cookies at night.
The staff was very helpful in directing us to good places to eat and the best values in tour options.
I'd definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electraglide2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomington, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. It is located just off the center of town. It was kind of noisy with all of the bikes that were in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane_h3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel, located in the center of town is a wonderful retreat. The hosts are all very friendly and helpful. My wife and I stayed there with friends for the weekend. It is a very unique experience, very different from the typical "Tourist" hotels. The rooms are spacious and very beautifully decorated. The fact that it is in the center of town allows you to walk to the many quaint shops and restaurants that are sometimes missed when you stay at one of the chain hotels. The breakfast that is provided is always very good. The food is brought right to your room. The hotel has a lot of character and history. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kestrel1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was perfect - very, very clean and the staff, while helpful, was not obtrusive. They provided a key to the front door so we could come and go at our leisure, which was a bonus.

We stayed in the James Troxell Suite and it was just lovely - however, if you're a light sleeper this room (2nd floor facing the main street, with bedroom on the corner ) may not be for you. The street out front is very heavily traveled and must be a main route for trucks and buses, as well as cars. Fortunately it did not bother us.

We would definitely stay again, as the location was perfect and the hotel provides free convenient onsite parking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing