We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Romantic Getaway”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant and Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel, located in the center of town is a wonderful retreat. The hosts are all very friendly and helpful. My wife and I stayed there with friends for the weekend. It is a very unique experience, very different from the typical "Tourist" hotels. The rooms are spacious and very beautifully decorated. The fact that it is in the center of town allows you to walk to the many quaint shops and restaurants that are sometimes missed when you stay at one of the chain hotels. The breakfast that is provided is always very good. The food is brought right to your room. The hotel has a lot of character and history. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kestrel1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    57
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
216
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was perfect - very, very clean and the staff, while helpful, was not obtrusive. They provided a key to the front door so we could come and go at our leisure, which was a bonus.

We stayed in the James Troxell Suite and it was just lovely - however, if you're a light sleeper this room (2nd floor facing the main street, with bedroom on the corner ) may not be for you. The street out front is very heavily traveled and must be a main route for trucks and buses, as well as cars. Fortunately it did not bother us.

We would definitely stay again, as the location was perfect and the hotel provides free convenient onsite parking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The service was exceptional, the rooms were clean, warm and inviting. We are looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gownmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The service is absolutely first rate. We are left with the feeling that the staff was willing to go to any reasonable length to make our stay a grand experience. The rooms are spacious suites, and very, very clean. The amenities are all here. Breakfasts consist of freshly baked rolls and bread. Room costs are very reasonable. Our group has already moved to fill all the rooms for a similar event in 2011.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsurdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Did not book this on-line. Literally, showed up in Gettysburg and had to look in the phone book for a room, so had not seen the photos before booking. But what they advertise is "Historic James Gettys Hotel"...so naturally, and based on the entrance to the place, I am thinking it's going to have historic furnishings, etc. But in the end, I was rather disappointed. While the stay was fine and plenty comfortable, IMHO, the interior fell flat of adding any sort of historical feel to the place. Basically, what you get is dated 80's country decor. And I do have to agree with another poster on here, there was never anyone at the desk, and I am not sure who the lady was that was working there, but she was very brisk and rather rude though the younger college kid who was working the evening shift was very nice. Overall, I am surprised at all these over the top 5 star reviews quite frankly. We drove to NYC immediately following our stay in Gettysburg and found a 4 star hotel on the upper west side that was absolutely gorgeous for less! I do want to go back to Gettysburg, but I will try another hotel. OK. Just not impressive enough for the money.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you for your constructive criticism. I noticed that you stayed in 2007 and wanted to let you know that our rooms have been upgraded within the last two years. Our property is extremely historic, but we do not advertise historic decor. We want our guests to feel relaxed as though in their own home. Our best compliments are based on our 'home away from home'" feel.
Our lobby is historic as it was merely a simple entryway in the early 1900's, mostly for ladies who would not walk through a bar to check in to their room. Because of the small space, we do not keep a person posted at a 'desk', however our facility is staffed fully throughout the day. Our staff is friendly and kind, perhaps you caught one of us on a bad day and for that I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here for only one night in early April, the Hotel was in the heart of the town of Gettysburg and within walking distance of some of the shops, restaurants and some attractions (but not the battlefields). Clean spacious and quiet room, It is a small hotel, but one of the most comfortable place I have stayed in, Should we go back to Gettysburg, would not heisitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdelis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was my family's second stay at this hotel. We were impressed when we stayed her 6 years ago, and we're still impressed. Our suite was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and bread are very tasty. Parking is easy and free and the hotel is right in the center of town and convenient to all attractions. For its location, I think it is priced quite fairly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,000 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing