We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay while in Gettysburg”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
“The perfect place to stay while in Gettysburg”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The service is absolutely first rate. We are left with the feeling that the staff was willing to go to any reasonable length to make our stay a grand experience. The rooms are spacious suites, and very, very clean. The amenities are all here. Breakfasts consist of freshly baked rolls and bread. Room costs are very reasonable. Our group has already moved to fill all the rooms for a similar event in 2011.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsurdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
220
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Did not book this on-line. Literally, showed up in Gettysburg and had to look in the phone book for a room, so had not seen the photos before booking. But what they advertise is "Historic James Gettys Hotel"...so naturally, and based on the entrance to the place, I am thinking it's going to have historic furnishings, etc. But in the end, I was rather disappointed. While the stay was fine and plenty comfortable, IMHO, the interior fell flat of adding any sort of historical feel to the place. Basically, what you get is dated 80's country decor. And I do have to agree with another poster on here, there was never anyone at the desk, and I am not sure who the lady was that was working there, but she was very brisk and rather rude though the younger college kid who was working the evening shift was very nice. Overall, I am surprised at all these over the top 5 star reviews quite frankly. We drove to NYC immediately following our stay in Gettysburg and found a 4 star hotel on the upper west side that was absolutely gorgeous for less! I do want to go back to Gettysburg, but I will try another hotel. OK. Just not impressive enough for the money.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you for your constructive criticism. I noticed that you stayed in 2007 and wanted to let you know that our rooms have been upgraded within the last two years. Our property is extremely historic, but we do not advertise historic decor. We want our guests to feel relaxed as though in their own home. Our best compliments are based on our 'home away from home'" feel.
Our lobby is historic as it was merely a simple entryway in the early 1900's, mostly for ladies who would not walk through a bar to check in to their room. Because of the small space, we do not keep a person posted at a 'desk', however our facility is staffed fully throughout the day. Our staff is friendly and kind, perhaps you caught one of us on a bad day and for that I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here for only one night in early April, the Hotel was in the heart of the town of Gettysburg and within walking distance of some of the shops, restaurants and some attractions (but not the battlefields). Clean spacious and quiet room, It is a small hotel, but one of the most comfortable place I have stayed in, Should we go back to Gettysburg, would not heisitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdelis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was my family's second stay at this hotel. We were impressed when we stayed her 6 years ago, and we're still impressed. Our suite was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and bread are very tasty. Parking is easy and free and the hotel is right in the center of town and convenient to all attractions. For its location, I think it is priced quite fairly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I have travelled to Gettysburg many, many times with my young daughter and other family members, and I have stayed at The James Gettys Hotel on numerous occasions. From my experiences, I can honestly say that this is one of (if not THE) best hotels I've ever stayed at!

From the moment you walk through the front doors, Steph and her staff treat you like their extended family. Their smiles and warm welcomes always make you feel at home. The entire place is spotless, and each suite is individually decorated with interesting layouts. From the cozy, intimate suites, such as the Union Hotel Suite, to the enormous Majestic Suite, you'll find full kitchens with all necessary utensils and appliances, ample living rooms, lovely bathrooms, and amazing bedrooms. The Majestic Suite, the hotel's newest addition located on the second floor in the rear of the building, goes even further by offering a wet bar, electric fireplace, and awesome jetted tub for 2.

Each evening, the hotel provides a turn-down service and delivers breakfast for the next day, which consists of fresh-baked breads and muffins, various seasonal fruits, fresh juice, and even a few chocolate treats for those nighttime munchies!

Parking is in the rear of the building, and the hotel provides easy access to the main lobby via a paved walkway along the side of the building. In addition, the hotel has an elevator for those unable to make the steps. If you're a smoker, the building is completely smoke-free. However, they do provide a smoking area outside of the second floor exit, which is quite convenient.

Although the hotel sits on a main street, it is generally quiet. There is a bar/restaurant next door that can get a little noisy during the summer months, but it has never prevented us from getting a restful night's sleep.

Located among many shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions, The James Gettys Hotel is a jewel to be discovered! I've stayed in over half of the suites in this hotel, and I honestly can't wait to go back and experience the other half. When in Gettysburg, this is my home away from home. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My two best friends and I typically spend a "girls weekend" away sometime in May. We chose Gettysburg this year as being a little more economical and closer to home. I was fortunate to stumble onto the James Gettys Hotel.

What appealed to me was that we could stay in the historical part of Gettysburg and walk to a variety of restaurants and shops, yet the suite was large enough for the 3 of us to share.

The suite was EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. The bedding and towels were not worn or torn as stated in prior reviews. Our request for additional towels was met immediately. The beds were comfortable and no one had trouble sleeping.

There was a full size refrigerator, small kitchen table, coffee maker, etc in the sitting area of the suite. This is a hotel that does not advertise free breakfast, so I don't know where that idea came from. However, every afternoon there were fresh cookies and chocolates delivered to the room as well as a turn down service. We also had a plate of muffins, fruit, and pastry bread every morning.

The service, room, and location were all wonderful. It was a pleasure staying at the James Getty Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len10smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Overall, I was not impressed with the James Gettys hotel. The positive: great location (lots of little shops and restaurants within walking distance). The negatives: The lady working the front desk was incredibly rude. When we arrived to check in, there was a sign saying that the attendant had stepped away and to ring a bell for service (the sign was always up, there was NEVER an attendant at the desk). We waited a solid 15 minutes before someone finally came out to check us in. She was rude, short, and not welcoming whatsoever. We would see her throughout our stay and she never acknowledged us and seemed like she was there just to collect a pay check. Apparently pets aren't allowed, but two large dogs were roaming the "lobby" while we waited to check in and upon finally getting into our room, the couch was covered in what appeared to be white dog hair. The room itself was OK, but for the amount they charged it wasn't worth it. Our room was along the street which gets very loud at night, and oddly enough, semi-trucks travel the small streets through Gettysburg and it is loud, which makes it difficult to sleep through the night if you are a light sleeper (it didn't bother my husband but kept me up throughout all the nights of our stay). I could literally hear someone outside on the street sneeze and we were on the fourth floor (just gives you an idea at how thin the walls/windows are). The bed in our suite was a full size bed. My husband didn't realize that when he booked the room, so that's our fault, but he assumed that for $140 a night you'd at least get a queen sized bed.

In the end, it truly was more of a place to just sleep while we toured the town and the battlefield. We enjoyed our time in Gettysburg, outside of the hotel, and if we returned we would not stay there again.

Tip to travelers: If going there for the battlefield, definitely see the Cyclorama and the Museum at the visitor's center. We also paid to have the tour guide come in our car as opposed to seeing the field on a large bus; we really liked the one-on-one tour. You can ask whatever questions you like and you don't feel rushed. We also enjoyed the Eisenhower home. Save your money and do not pay for the David Wills home tour. It's where Lincoln stayed the night before giving the Gettysburg address. The home is now more "modern" and really the only thing worth seeing was the bed Lincoln slept in, but they charge you the same amount to see that as they do to go to the Cyclorama and Museum. It was only $6.50 a person, but my husband and I both agree it wasn't worth $13.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WAtraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 27 in Gettysburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing