We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't look beyond here- great all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
KC-MO
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't look beyond here- great all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow
A great place seriously
Stayed in city hotel suite which was large two room suite and really what you want after a day touring.
B'fast is continental ?? With carbs served the evening before- so if you want b'fast don't count on this!
That being said the staff is great
Elevator is v nice
Free parking is a plus
Would definitely come again

Room Tip: Choose room on line 318 was great and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! What you said about the City Hotel Suite being "what you want after a day of touring" is exactly the experience we strive to bring each of our guests! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Gettysburg - we hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    51
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the union room and it was great such a cute lil room very clean and comfy and the breakfast was delicious we will definitely be staying here again I think next time we will choose a different room but overall this was a great place everyone was very friendly :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review, and for spending your anniversary getaway at the James Gettys! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Union Hotel Suite and plan to try another suite in the future! Each suite has a different decor and furnishings, but they are all wonderfully comfortable.

I look forward to seeing you again soon and seeing which suite you choose next!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family highly recommends the James Getty's Hotel in Gettysburg. We are a military family of four, with infant twins, coming back to the states from our Germany assignment. Since our flight was delayed by 3 hours we contacted the hotel via email to let them know that we would have an even later arrival, making it closer to 2am or 3am. The hotel concierge, Patricia, received our message and replied immediately to let us know they would be waiting for us. She went home and rested and came back to greet us when we finally arrived at 3am. After an exhausting journey with our infants, we were so relieved to be greeted with a smile. To top off the long night, as we were unloading our bags from the rental car, I locked the keys inside with our babies! Patricia called the police for us and stayed with us until they were able to open the vehicle.
When we finally made it to our room there was juice and muffins waiting for us. The room was beautiful with a large, comfy bed and two baby beds for our little ones. We spent two nights and we couldn't have been happier with the amenities.
The James Gettys Hotel is the best hotel in Gettysburg. It will forever be our first choice when we return for future visits!

Room Tip: We had the suite with the kitchenette which was a huge benefit with our infant twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
First, I'd like to extend to you our greatest thanks for your service to our country! It was an honor to have you stay with us your very first nights back in the States!

It is always a pleasure to offer our very best service to our guests. We understand that travel delays are unavoidable and are happy to arrange our schedules to meet the needs of our guests whenever possible!

In this particular instance, I'm glad that Trisha was on hand to help in your tense situation upon arrival! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is he best hotel in Gettysburg! It has an excellent location right in downtown Gettysburg! Free parking! Free homemade breakfasts! The rooms are spotless, and all have kitchenettes! The A/C worked great, and the tv had over 200 channels in HD! This is the only place I will stay when in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cenzo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're looking for a quaint hotel in an historic location, this is it. Old brown stone building right in the middle of town. Easy access to all the battlefields, restaurants and shopping. Nice staff and rooms. I would go there again on next visit. Only slight negative is that the price is higher than other hotels. If you're looking for budget, stay just outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was simply delightful! In celebration of my birthday, the staff made arrangements for a beautiful floral arrangement and yummy cupcakes to be waiting for me upon arrival. They also booked tours for us in advance. The room was quaint and immaculate. The service was impeccable and the staff friendly and helpful. The carafe of orange juice and lovely basket of fresh baked muffins, breads and fruit delivered to our room each evening was a wonderful and delicious treat. Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was one of the most impressive weekend getaways we’ve had in a long time. We’ll definitely return for more visits and recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a great experience at James Getty. From the staff in checking in...they had great suggestions and directions...to the room...I felt at home. It was great. The baked items and turn down items...chocolate and cookies....were yummy. Easy place to find and get to places. And we left something in the room at check out and they called us as soon as they had them...luckily we were not out of town yet. Loved this place!!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room but the others are big so you should have a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing