We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best Hotel in Gettysburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bethel, CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Gettysburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is he best hotel in Gettysburg! It has an excellent location right in downtown Gettysburg! Free parking! Free homemade breakfasts! The rooms are spotless, and all have kitchenettes! The A/C worked great, and the tv had over 200 channels in HD! This is the only place I will stay when in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cenzo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    52
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
192
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're looking for a quaint hotel in an historic location, this is it. Old brown stone building right in the middle of town. Easy access to all the battlefields, restaurants and shopping. Nice staff and rooms. I would go there again on next visit. Only slight negative is that the price is higher than other hotels. If you're looking for budget, stay just outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was simply delightful! In celebration of my birthday, the staff made arrangements for a beautiful floral arrangement and yummy cupcakes to be waiting for me upon arrival. They also booked tours for us in advance. The room was quaint and immaculate. The service was impeccable and the staff friendly and helpful. The carafe of orange juice and lovely basket of fresh baked muffins, breads and fruit delivered to our room each evening was a wonderful and delicious treat. Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was one of the most impressive weekend getaways we’ve had in a long time. We’ll definitely return for more visits and recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a great experience at James Getty. From the staff in checking in...they had great suggestions and directions...to the room...I felt at home. It was great. The baked items and turn down items...chocolate and cookies....were yummy. Easy place to find and get to places. And we left something in the room at check out and they called us as soon as they had them...luckily we were not out of town yet. Loved this place!!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room but the others are big so you should have a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here May 14 and 15th in the Buck Suite. We loved it! The two rooms are large, and the kitchen was an added feature. Although the bedroom was over the main street, we only heard cars driving by, but it didn't bother us. The muffins, juice, coffee, candy, and cookies were such a lovely treat, and the hotel is spotless. It is a historic building so often the floor will creak when you walk. The hotel is right downtown and close to all bars, shops, and restaurants - a two minute drive to the battlefield. We enjoyed the Blue Parrot for a drink, but really enjoyed the Blue and Gray Bar. They have a $1.50 beer happy hour from 4-6pm. Also, they make a delicious crab/artichoke dip. Loved the hotel and the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a historic building, that has stairs and elevators, has all suites, is right next to a restaurant, winery and art gallery...need I say more???
WHAT WE LIKED VERY MUCH...
-curbside place to pull in when you check in
-always a friendly greeting
-always a quick reply via email with any questions
-all rooms are suites
-the home-made baked goods
-the chocolate candy that welcomes you to your room
-the wine glasses and wine bottle openers in every room
-you generally can avoid kids running all over the place, by staying here
-location within walking distance to everything
-parking behind the building
WHAT WE DIDN'T CARE FOR...((but don't mind tolerating-because its so nice to stay here))
-queen beds are small-the one in the cross keys was very hard
-noise from the Blue Parrot Bistro
-the view from the windows-was mostly roofs of other buildings in the Blue Parrot Tea room
-spooky feel to some rooms
-it is expensive
OUR WISH LIST.....
-king beds and jacuzzi tubs in every room :)

Room Tip: rooms next to the blue parrot bistro-can be noisy, BUT noise usually ends around 10:30, some rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaVidMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakerton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We selected this small hotel because of its location to downtown sites within walking distance.

The elevator and stairs provided access to the upper floor rooms. The parking is located on the rear of the property, is clean and well kept. The hotel has curb space out front for off loading your luggage so you can pop inside to the desk, check in, get your room key, drop your luggage, pick up a parking pass, then move your car out back.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, a queen size bed in one room and a trundle bed in the Tv/kitchen/family room. The unit had a flowery fabric softener scent to it. This could be a problem for folks with allergies or those who get headaches from perfumes. Both rooms were large with thick carpet on the floor, very cushy.

The bathroom is very large, set up to be accessible. was very clean and well appointed.

The windows were modern insulated so street noise toward the back of the property was very little. The voices of other patrons could be heard from rooms below, but not to the point of keeping you awake.

The morning breakfast basket is left in your room the night before you turn in. Its got muffins, fruit slices and pound cake. Coffee is set out on the kitchenette near the coffee pot.

The only thing this sweet little hotel is missing is its own coffee shop or smallish bar to unwind, with friends who want to drop in, while looking outside at the restored structures up and down the street. Street bistros are near-by, but did seem busy and kinda loud.

Very polite and responsive hotel staff at the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the property if you believe street noise could be an issue for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing