We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more than you would ever expect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“more than you would ever expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Jame Gettys Hotel is a sweet place to stay. They have hospitality in an old fashion way.
Like a time machine you are back 100 years and truly you have to stay here to experience your getaway in a grand Gettysburg way. I don't want to give away all secrets . You will just have to come and enjoy. Truly one of the best places we ever had the pleasure to stay,

Room Tip: show up any room is well worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodadv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that we made such an impression on you! Everyone likes to be pampered when they are on vacation, and it is our pleasure to make sure our guests go away feeling satisfied.

Please stay again!
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
210
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
allentown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect weekend getaway. The owners show a genuine interest in their guests. They made sure we were enjoying our stay and were always willing to give suggestions on where to go or what to do. Our suite was spotless. The fruit and cheese tray a welcome snack. The location was right in the heart of town. We didn't hear any night noise from the keystone suite, although there is a bar right next door. I would definitely recommend this hotel .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Keystone Hotel Suite; each of the rooms on the front of the building offer such wonderful views of the street and welcome bursts of sunshine!

Thank you for taking advantage of our Living Social package - we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
451 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here based on a 2 night groupon gift bought for us. The hotel is right in the center of town allowing you to park your car in their parking lot and walk to most attractions. The room was clean, large and comfy. I only wish they had queen or king size beds. However, it had a nice little kitchenette with a stove, coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. We received a large welcome tray of cheeses, crackers and fruit, which was lovely. At night, we received home baked cookies for the evening. Each eve we also received a basket of home baked bread, muffins and fruit, as well as a carafe of orange juice for breakfast. A small pitcher of milk was given to use with our morning coffee (also provided).

My only complaint about our stay was the noise outside our windows late at night. We asked for a room in the rear of the hotel because of the reviews that mentioned the street noise. However, the rear rooms border an alley way that runs between the hotel and the Blue Parrot Bistro next door. On Thursday eve, there wasn't any noise, however, Friday night we heard lots of very loud laughter and talking until almost 3am, even though we were on the 5th floor. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep that night. While the hotel may not be able to prevent this, they should supply each room with a white noise machine for the nightstand. These work very well in eliminating noise. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay at the James Gettys. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise next door. You are correct in your estimation that we are unable to control it; however, we do what we can to limit it, including triple-paned windows (plus storm windows in some instances) and heavy curtains. We also work very closely with our neighbors in noise-prevention solutions.

I realize that with the Living Social promotion, many rooms filled up very quickly on weekends. I can only suggest that our guests reserve as soon as possible after purchasing a voucher. I would also suggest coming in during the week to enjoy Gettysburg with fewer crowds.

Thank you again for your comments and suggestions; we will take them to heart!
Please stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been staying at the James Getty for 15 years now. It has been consistently clean and well cared for, and the staff has always been very friendly. It is in a great location for walking to restaurants and shops. The breakfast of baked goods (baked on the premises, too) with fruit and juice is always delicious. I have never, never been disappointed in the James Getty and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I cannot say how delighted I was to read your review!
Thank you so much for continuing to rely on the James Gettys Hotel for your visits to Gettysburg. We really enjoy having you as our guests and look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We just returned from the James Getty Hotel and had a fabulous stay! The staff could not have been nicer and welcoming. The cheese and fruit tray and breakfast basket are just wonderful. Our room, Lord Nelson Suite, was extremely clean, warm and comforting. VERY quiet and relaxing at night! Just perfect! We had to leave early due to a dental emergency and the staff all expressed concern. We will DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostyinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I am so sorry that you had to leave early! Hopefully, you will be right as rain in no time!
The Lord Nelson's Suite is a very popular room, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is great place to stay! My room was spotless. Nicely decorated. Amenities such as homebaked goods and fruit brought to your room each evening for b'fast the next day and cookies brought during the day. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Within walking distance for shops and pubs/restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We know that sightseeing can be tiring, and enjoy providing all the little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a great 2 day stay at the James Getty. DH, son and I arrived around dinner time and were checked in quickly with yummy cookies and bread awaiting us. Had dinner at Blue and Grey first night, Dobbins second night. Lord Nelson's room was by comfortable and quiet. Good fit for our family. Perfect location for walking downtown and then touring battlefield. I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed hosting your family's visit to Gettysburg!
I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and the baked goods. We love showcasing Adams County's wonderful produce and always appreciate hearty appetites!

Please come see us again!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing